Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket progress in Duhallow Cup

Newmarket progressed past the first round of the Duhallow Cup after recording a resounding victory over St. John’s by 4-17 to 0-3 in Millstreet on Sunday.

Newmarket hit the front from the very outset with the prolific T.J. Bodie pointing within seconds. Denis O’Brien added a second before a brace of points from John Lane and another from Nicky Flanagan had Newmarket in front by five points within ten minutes. A relentless Newmarket side swept forward at pace in wave after wave of attack as John Lane again found the target. The first goal of an opening half hat-trick from T.J. Bodie came in the thirteenth minute after some neat build up play set him up before his first clinically taken goal of the game. John Lane pointed once more before T.J. Bodie found the net for a second time in the nineteenth minute. John Ryan found the target from a placed ball before T.J. Bodie completed his nine minute hat-trick with another sublime finish. St. John’s finished the half well and were rewarded with two points as Newmarket turned over with a lead of 3-8 to 0-2.

T.J. Brosnan added a fine individual point within three minutes of the restart and John Ryan followed with a second point. Newmarket found the net for a fourth time when John Lane found himself closing in on goal and he supplied a top class finish to the top corner of the net. St. John’s added the next score but Newmarket went on to score the final seven points of the game. John Lane and Tony O’Keeffe pointed before Luke McCarthy added a brace of points. Sean Doody surged forward to get his name on the scoresheet and Newmarket closed out victory with further points from Tony O’Keeffe and a superbly executed fifty from Kevin O’Connor.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
Sean Doody (0-1)   Barry O’Leary   Brian O’Riordan
Kevin O’Connor (0-1)   Kevin O’Sullivan   Robert Stack
  Bart Daly   Denys O’Brien (0-1)  
John Lane (1-5)   John Ryan (0-2)   Ian Flanagan
Nicky Flanagan (0-1)   T.J. Bodie (3-1)   Tony O’Keeffe (0-2)
SUBS: T.J. Brosnan (0-1), Luke McCarthy (0-2), Nicky Barrett, David Quinlan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors