Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Minor footballers defeated by Pobal Ui Chaoimh in the first round of the championship

Newmarket’s minor footballers were defeated by Pobal Ui Chaoimh in the first round of the championship, 0-13 to 1-5 at Boherbue on Monday evening.
Newmarket opened the scoring thanks to a fourth minute point from their outstanding forward Gavin Forde. Pobal Ui Chaoimh replied with two points before Nicky Barrett had the sides level for a second time on kicking a ninth minute point.
Newmarket hit the front thanks to an excellently taken goal from Gavin Forde in the fourteenth minute. Pobal Ui Chaoimh reacted in the perfect manner and three quickfire points again restored parity on the scoreboard. Newmarket took a slender lead into the interval when once more Gavin Forde pointed to leave the score at 1-3 to 0-5 at the turnover.
Newmarket struggled to add to their tally as the second half resumed and two points from Pobal Ui Chaoimh tilted the scoreline in their favour. It was left to Gavin Forde once again to provide the leadership for Newmarket and he kicked a fine point to tie the sides once more for a fifth time at the end of the third quarter. Daniel Culloty kicked a super point for Newmarket but unfortunately, despite taking the lead again, this proved to be the final score of the contest for Newmarket. Once more Pobal Ui Chaoimh found an equalizer and as the game entered the final ten minutes, critically they proved far more clinical in front of goal than Newmarket. They edged into a two point lead and as Newmarket commited more players to attack in an effort to retrieve the situation, Pobal Ui Chaoimh took full advantage of the opportunities presented to them as a more open defensive rearguard were hit for another three points in the closing minutes of the game.
David Quinlan
Timmy O’Flynn Michael O’Leary
Paudie Allen Jack Birtley David Enright
T.J. Brosnan Patrick Kelly
Nicky Barrett (0-1) Luke McCarthy Vinny Molloy
Ivan King Gavin Forde (1-3)
Subs: Con McAuliffe, Daniel Culloty(0-1), Timmy O’Keeffe

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Ducon Cup
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors