Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers bow out of championship

Newmarket’s hurlers bowed out of the EPS Bison Duhallow Junior Hurling Championship when they were defeated by Tullylease in a second round contest played at Meelin on Saturday evening on a scoreline of 2-12 to 0-14.

Tullylease were quick off the mark and pointed in the third minute. They dominated the early proceedings and were guilty of hitting a number of wides throughout the half. A second point followed in the tenth minute before they added a third in their next attack. Newmarket eventually got off the mark when their ace marksman, John Lane converted a fourteenth minute free. Tullylease were next to point but John Lane brought Newmarket to within a point thanks to two more converted frees. Little separated the sides at this stage and the next two scores were divided with Newmarket’s solitary scorer on the day John Lane again on target. The half ended with a Tullylease point and they turned over with a two point advantage, 0-6 to 0-4.
The accuracy of the freetaking on the opposite sides was the major feature of the game and after John Lane initially pointed from play within a minute, the next four points of the second half came from this source with John Lane adding another point to his ever increasing tally. Critically, in the context of the game the first goal came twelve minutes into the half and it was Tullylease who gained the decisive score. Despite a John Lane point Tullylease pressed their advantage and tacked on three points in succession to take a sizeable 1-12 to 0-7 lead. Two points from John Lane kept Newmarket in touch but they suffered another blow as Tullylease goaled for a second time to clinch the contest. To their credit, Newmarket refused to relent and they battled gamely to the end and talisman John Lane hit a further five points without reply to leave four points between the sides at the end of the contest.

Paul Verling
Ian Flanagan John McSweeney Anthony Crowley
Shane Murphy Pa O’Brien Robert Stack
Kevin O’Sullivan Barry O’Leary
John Ryan Colin O’Sullivan Tony O’Keeffe
John Lane (0-14) Nicky Flanagan Conor Cronin
Subs: Michael Kenneally, John Scanlon, Donnacha O’Dea

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors