Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Gallant minors suffer defeat

Despite a gallant showing, Newmarket’s minor hurlers were defeated by St. Mark’s in their first outing of the year in a league game played at Meelin on Thursday evening with the final score reading 3-15 to 2-6.

The sides exchanged points in the opening minutes with Donal Hannon pointing a third minute free for Newmarket. St. Mark’s hit the front on scoring the next two points before a fine goal was followed by a further two points. Newmarket hurled well but crucially were very wasteful throughout and ended the game with a total of sixteen wides. Conor Keppel impressed and he fired over a second point before Donal Hannon pointed for a second time. Another player to the fore was Timmy O’Keeffe and he pointed together with Ivan King which left Newmarket trailing by 1-7 to 0-5 after twenty three minutes. Newmarket were rewarded for their endeavours three minutes before the turnover when once again Donal Hannon was on hand for his side and this time he found the back of the net. As the half concluded, St. Mark’s turned over in front by 1-9 to 1-5.

Newmarket suffered a setback within two minutes of the restart with St. Mark’s finding a way past Newmarket’s excellent goalkeeper Shane McAuliffe. Newmarket responded and Conor Keppel was involved before Timmy O’Keeffe finished with a fine individual goal to leave the score 2-10 to 2-5. However, Newmarket were left to rue their erratic shooting and the home side were far more clinical adding a goal and three points to their tally before David Enright  pointed for Newmarket. St. Mark’s closed out victory with another two points but Newmarket will be well pleased with the efforts of their younger players Alan Ryan, Gavin Forde and Donal Hannon in their first outings at this level.

The Newmarket team was…

Shane McAuliffe
Paudie Allen Jack Birtley
Alan Ryan Michael O’Leary Gavin Forde
Timmy O’Keeffe (1-0) David Enright (0-1)
Ivan King (0-1) Conor Keppel (0-1) Nicky Barrett
Luke McCarthy Donal Hannon (1-2)
SUBS: Billy Lane, Vinny Molloy, Patrick Kelly, Jacko Flaherty, David Quinlan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors