Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Encouraging display from under 21 hurlers

Newmarket were defeated by Millstreet in the Duhallow under 21 hurling championship game played in ideal conditions at Newmarket on Sunday evening by 1-15 to 0-11.
Newmarket got off the mark when John Lane (who earlier in the day played a key role for the Duhallow senior football team) pointed from play in the second minute. Ian Flanagan doubled the advantage with a well taken point from a tight angle. Millstreet got off the mark in the seventh minute from a free and it was their accuracy from placed balls throughout the game that paved the way for their ultimate success. John Lane was similarly on target from a free but Millstreet added the next two points to tie the sides for the first time at 0-3 apiece. Millstreet edged in front with the next score but Newmarket responded and they added the next three points with two John Lane efforts either side of a score from the excellent Conor Cronin.
Millstreet ended the half in the ascendancy and were clinically on target five times from placed balls in the closing minutes of the half to enjoy a lead of 0-9 to 0-6 at the turnover.
Millstreet resumed with the next two points before John Lane scored a neat point from play for Newmarket in the sixth minute. The sides competed gamely throughout and the next four points were shared, John Lane and Conor Cronin on target for Newmarket and the game entered the final quarter with the score at 0-13 to 0-9. Millstreet added a point before crucially finding the net for the only goal of the game with twelve minutes remaining which gave them a clear advantage. Newmarket failed to relent and led by Conor Cronin, John Ryan, Robert Stack, John Lane and Ian Flanagan they tried to redress the issue with the latter two pointing, Ian Flanagan pointing a particularly sublime score from distance. Millstreet however closed in on victory and added the final score of the game but Newmarket will be encouraged by a number of individual displays and will regroup for another day for a second chance in round two.

The Newmarket team was…

Paul Verling
William O’Flynn Brendan Stack Michael O’Leary
Timmy O’Keeffe Conor Cronin (0-2) Bryan O’Connell
John Ryan John Lane (0-7)
Conor Kepple Robert Stack David Kelly
Kieran Lehane Ian Flanagan (0-2) Eddie Allen
SUBS: Jack Birtley, Billy Daly, Luke McCarthy

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
    Éire Óg:2-07
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors