Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket minors begin league with a win

Newmarket’s minor football team began their league campaign with a well earned victory away to St. Peter’s at Rockchapel on Wednesday evening last by 1-11 to 0-8.

Newmarket got off to an ideal start when wing back Billy Lane advanced to a forward position and was on hand to round off the opening attack of the game by kicking the ball over the bar. St. Peter’s levelled proceedings before edging ahead thanks to a point in the tenth minute. Newmarket were on terms two minutes later thanks to a well struck effort from Luke McCarthy. The sides exchanged points again before the end of the quarter with Timmy O’Keeffe pointing for Newmarket to leave the sides tied at 0-3 apiece. Newmarket took the lead when the excellent T.J. Brosnan went on a long solo run and swept through the field in impressive fashion before offloading to Luke McCarthy, and he finished with aplomb to the bottom corner of the net for what proved to be the only goal of the contest. St. Peter’s responded with two points but a point from Patrick Kelly in the dying moments of the half ensured Newmarket turned over in front at half time by 1-4 to 0-5.

Newmarket increased their advantage within two minutes of the restart with Nicky Barrett finishing neatly from a narrow angle before T.J. Brosnan converted a free in the sixth minute. St. Peter’s then had their first point of the half but points from T.J. Brosnan and Luke McCarthy gave Newmarket a lead of 1-8 to 0-6 at the three quarter mark. Newmarket held firm for the remainder of the game despite St. Peter’s best efforts as the sides went on to divide four points, Timmy O’Keeffe on target twice with two fine efforts from play. The points were sealed late on when Ivan King landed a fine point to ensure the spoils went to Newmarket.

The Newmarket team was…

David Quinlan
Paudie Allen Micheal O’Leary Timmy O’Flynn
Billy Lane (0-1) Jack Birtley David Enright
Conor Keppel T.J. Brosanan (0-2)
Nicky Barrett (0-1) Timmy O’Keeffe (0-3) Vinny Molloy
Luke McCarthy (1-2) Patrick Kelly (0-1) Alan Ryan
SUBS: Gerard Murphy, Ivan King (0-1), Eoin Murphy, Donal Hannon,Gavin Keane

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors