Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Late Dromtarriffe points deny Newmarket in U21 quarter final

Two late points from Dromtariffe brought to an end Newmarket’s three year reign as Duhallow under 21 football champions as the home side edged an even contest by 2-9 to 1-10 in an entertaining quarter final contest played in ideal conditions at Dromtariffe on Saturday afternoon.

Newmarket began brightly and John Ryan scored a fine point within a minute before converting a free in the fifth minute. Dromtariffe got off the mark in the seventh minute before a second point had the sides level for the first time after eleven minutes. Newmarket edged in front again thanks to a John Lane point and Conor Cronin increased the advantage with an excellent effort. The game turned in the twentieth minute when Dromtariffe struck for two quickfire goals and they suddenly enjoyed a four point advantage. Newmarket responded with John Lane answering with two points but it was Dromtariffe who had the final score of the half to turn over in front by 2-3 to 0-6.

Dromtariffe increased their lead within a minute of the restart but two minutes later a superb move, initiated by a long delivery from Paul Cashman saw John Lane gather possession and he laid the ball into the path of the on rushing T.J. Brosnan who crashed the ball brilliantly to the bottom corner of the Dromtariffe net to reduce the arrears to a solitary point. With the game finely balanced and in full flow the sides exchanged the next four points with John Lane twice on target for Newmarket. As Newmarket pressed hard for an equalizer they were guilty of squandering a number of opportunites before Ian Flanagan eventually tied proceedings, 2-6 to 1-9 with nine minutes remaining. Dromtariffe were next to take the lead but within a minute Newmarket were on terms again with T.J. Brosnan drilling the ball over the bar.

It was the home side however who made possession count in the closing moments and crucially found the target twice to deny Newmarket.

The Newmarket team was…

David Quinlan
Michael O’Leary   Brendan Stack   Jack Birtley
Anthony Lynch   Paul Cashman   David Enright
  Conor Cronin (0-1)   Robert Stack  
Bryan O’Connell   T.J. Brosnan (1-1)   Ian Flanagan (0-1)
John Lane (0-5)   Luke McCarthy   John Ryan (0-2)
SUBS: Timmy O’Keeffe, Conor Keppel

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors