Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Encouraging away display ends in defeat

Newmarket suffered a second successive league defeat in the intermediate football league, when despite an encouraging display, the home side Nemo Rangers emerged victorious by 1-12 to 0-10 in a game played on Sunday afternoon.

Nemo got off the mark when they pointed within seconds of the throw in but it was Newmarket who settled the better and they gained parity when the outstanding T.J. Bodie slotted over an equalizing free in the second minute. Tony O’Keeffe slipped through the Nemo rearguard two minutes later to punch a point before T.J. Bodie added a third point in the ninth minute. Newmarket continued to impress and with Mark Reidy to the fore in attack and the clinical T.J. Bodie on target with a further two efforts as Newmarket led 0-5 to 0-1 at the end of the opening quarter. Nemo responded and in the space of three minutes added three quickfire points. John Lane converted a free for Newmarket but Nemo finished the half by gaining parity at 0-6 apiece thanks to two points in succession.

Similar to the first half, Nemo pointed within seconds and went on to add another two points in the opening minutes. To their credit, Newmarket responded in fine fashion and some excellent approach play resulted with points from Maurice Feehan, T.J. Bodie and John Lane which tied the sides for a third time, ten minutes into the second half.

The turning point of the contest came a minute later when Nemo broke through the Newmarket defence and found the net past Newmarket’s excellent goalkeeper, Niall O’Connor. They added to this crucial score by adding three more points and Newmarket struggled to respond. Substitute Nicky Flanagan did add a point for Newmarket but it was the home side that emerged victors by five points.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
Kevin O’Connor   Barry O’Leary   Brian O’Riordan
Anthony Crowley   Bart Daly   Sean Doody
  Gerard Casey   Timothy Murphy  
Maurice Feehan (0-1)   Mark Reidy   David O’Flynn
John Lane (0-2)   T.J. Bodie (0-5)   Tony O’Keeffe (0-1)
SUBS: Nicky Flanagan (0-1), Kevin O’Sullivan, Trevor Murphy, Shane Murphy, John Ryan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors