Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

U21 hurlers bow out to Kanturk

Newmarket bowed out of the Duhallow under 21 hurling championship when defeated by Kanturk at floodlit Mallow on Wednesday evening last by 2-16 to 0-13.

The poor weather that preceded the game made conditions difficult but Newmarket began brightly when Denis McCarthy pointed within a minute. John Lane who proved prolific from dead balls added a second in the fifth minute but Kanturk responded and a brace of points tied the sides for the only time by the eighth minute. Kanturk took the lead on adding two points before they scored a fine goal in the eleventh minute to take a five point lead. Newmarket settled and John Lane added two points by the end of the quarter to leave the score 0-4 to 1-4. The sides provided good entertainment in trying conditions but it was Kanturk who found it easier to add to their tally and added three further points against a resolute Newmarket rearguard. Newmarket once more responded well and were rewarded on John Lane pointing either side of a fine score from Billy Daly as the gap was reduced to three points again. The sides exchanged points with John Lane on target for a sixth time during the half before Kanturk took full advantage of the closing moments of the half and critically added a goal and a point in this period to enjoy a lead of 2-9 to 0-8 at half time.

Kanturk were first to add to their tally in the second half but Conor Cronin replied on striking two magnificent points from distance for Newmarket. John Lane added two points as Newmarket reduced the deficit to 2-10 to 0-12, nine minutes into the half. Kanturk gradually gained the ascendancy thanks to their ability to add further scores and in the next ten minutes added three points in succession. John Lane brought Newmarket within two goals with the game well into the final ten minutes but a more clinical Kanturk sealed the issue with a succession of fine scores to qualify for the semi final.

Newmarket can reflect on a commendable display against strong opposition. A feature of the performance was the display of the defence with Timmy O’Keeffe outstanding with John Scanlon and Kevin O’Sullivan also prominent.

The Newmarket team was…

Paul Verling
David Kelly   John Scanlon   Timmy O’Keeffe
Brendan Stack   Kevin O’Sullivan   Nicky Flanagan
  Conor Cronin (0-2)   John Lane (0-9)  
John Ryan   Robert Stack   Billy Daly (0-1)
Kieran Lehane   Denis McCarthy (0-1)   Ian Flanagan
SUBS: Bryan O’Connell, Brian O’Riordan, Eddie Allen.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors