Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

U16 footballers hold out for win

Newmarket played Knocknagree on a wet and misty Friday night, 10th July 2009, in Knocknagree.

The weather conditions making underfoot and handling conditions very difficult and both teams where guilty of handling errors throughout the game. Knocknagree got of to the perfect start with a goal inside the first minute, the Newmarket defence taking some time to settle.  After this things continued evenly with Newmarket taking the upper hand as the first half wore on, positional switches paying off. With scores from Gavin Forde, Vince Molloy, Nicky Barrett, Gerard Murphy and Luke McCarthy capped by a well taken goal from Vince Molloy on the stroke of halftime meant Newmarket went into the break leading by the narrowest of Margins, 1 – 5 to 1- 4.

At the start of the second half Knocknagree scored two goals putting them ahead by 5 before the Newmarket team hardly had time to catch their breath. From then on however Newmarket got into gear and began to dominate in all areas of the field and kept Knocknagree’s further scoring efforts down to a single point in the whole of the second half. Newmarket pressed on for more scores and these came from the boots of Daniel Culloty, Luke McCarthy and Gavin Forde, who scored 3 points and dipping free finding the back of the net for a timely goal in the 41st minute. Even though Newmarket had fought back and went ahead Knocknagree came back at them with a period of dominance in the last five minutes with continued pressure, however the Newmarket defence held firm  – Final score 2-10 to 3-5 in favour of the visitors.

This victory was hard earned by the Newmarket boys and credit must be given to there efforts, what was especially impressive about this victory was it was earned allowing for the absence of key players in key areas, therefore showing that there is a level of strength in depth in this Newmarket team.

The Newmarket team was…

Shane McAuliffe
Danny O’Connell   Jack Birtley   Timmy O’Flynn
Billy Lane   Jacko Flaherty   Paudie Allen
  Patrick Kelly   Gavin Forde (1-4)  
Peter Lynch   Vince Molloy(1-1)   Nicky Barrett(0-1)
Gerard Murphy(0-1)   Luke McCarthy(0-2)   Evan O’Keeffe
SUBS: Donnacha Drumm, Daniel Culloty (0-1), Alan Ryan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors