Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket claim their first league points

Newmarket’s junior hurlers defeated Freemount by 0-10 to 1-5 to claim their first league points in their third outing at the latter’s venue on Monday evening.

Newmarket opened the scoring when their most potent forward John Lane found the target in the fourth minute. The home side levelled within a minute before gaining the lead in the eighth minute. Shane Murphy tied the sides for a second time before John Lane regained the lead for Newmarket when converting an eleventh minute free. Freemount gained parity in the twentieth minute and within a minute they claimed the games only goal to gain a clear advantage. Freemount edged further ahead by adding another point before the impressive Barry O’Leary pointed for Newmarket. The half concluded with the sides exchanging two points, Newmarket’s score coming when Shane Murphy pointed after being awarded a penalty. The half time score read 1-5 to 0-5 in Freemount’s favour.

Newmarket performed admirably in the second half, a rock solid defence the foundation to a successful period, with Conor Cronin and Anthony Crowley particularly outstanding. John Lane was central to Newmarket’s success in attack as despite enjoying dominant periods of possession they struggled to find the target. He added points in the fifth, twelvth and sixteenth minutes of the half to tie the sides for a fourth time. Newmarket grew in confidence with Colin O’Sullivan and the inspirational Barry O’Leary driving the side forward. Newmarket eventually regained the lead thanks fittingly to Barry O’Leary with ten minutes left to play. A hard fought contest went down to the wire and Michael Kenneally got the final score of the contest as Newmarket held on the claim the points.
The Newmarket team was…

John Ryan
Donnacha Fitzpatrick John Scanlon Pa O’Brien
Conor Cronin John McSweeney Anthony Crowley
Barry O’Leary (0-2) Colin O’Sullivan
Tony O’Keeffe Shane Anthony Murphy John Lane (0-5)
Michael Kenneally (0-1) Shane Murphy (0-2) Robert Stack

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors