Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket defeated in Junior B hurling championship

Newmarket were defeated by Lismire in the Junior B hurling championship game played at Newmarket on Sunday morning by 1-14 to 1-8.

A very youthful Newmarket side got off to the best possible start when Paul Verling shot to the net in the very first minute. Both sides were very committed in the sticky conditions and Lismire opened their account in the eleventh minute. Bryan O’Connell converted a free for Newmarket but Lismire proved more clinical in attack and three points in a four minute spell tied the sides after seventeen minutes. Lismire proceeded to take the lead by adding a further two points before the impressive Bryan O’Connell pointed for Newmarket. Lismire finished the half by adding a point before a crucial goal followed two minutes from the interval. They added another point to end the half in front by 1-8 to 1-2.

Lismire increased their advantage by adding two points within seven minutes. Conor Cronin who had a fine game for Newmarket, reduced the arrears by converting a long range free but Lismire responded with a point to maintain an eight point advantage. Newmarket grew in confidence and points followed from Darren O’Keeffe and stalwart centre half back, Kieran Hayes. As the game entered the final ten minutes the tempo increased and some fine quality scores followed. The sides exchanged four points, Newmarket answering Lismire scores on both occasions with memorable points from Conor Cronin and Bryan O’Connell. Conor Cronin rounded off the scoring for Newmarket by finding the target from a long range free but it was Lismire who had the final score to end the contest and progress to the semi final.

The Newmarket team was…

Eamon Moynihan
William O’Flynn David Kelly Billy Daly
Timothy Murphy Kieran Hayes (0-1) Brendan Stack
T.J. Bodie Conor Cronin (0-3)
Bryan O’Connell (0-3) Michael Kenneally Alan Forde
Paul Verling (1-0) Donnacha Fitzpatrick Martin O’Doherty
SUB: Darren O’Keeffe (0-1)

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors