Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket suffer first defeat in Junior B league campaign

Newmarket suffered the first defeat of their league campaign when they were on the receiveing end of a fine Lismire comeback at the latters venue on Thursday evening, the game ending 1-13 to 0-14, with Newmarket having enjoyed a six point advantage at the halfway mark.

Newmarket were quick out of the blocks and led with early points from Anthony Crowley and the prolific Denys O’Brien before Lismire opened their account in the fifth minute. Robert Stack and Denys O’Brien found the range before a Lismire point left the score at 0-4 to 0-2 after a pulsating opening nine minutes. The sides exchanged a brace of points before the end of the quarter with Denys O’Brien again on target. Newmarket increased their lead once more thanks to Denys O’Brien and then Seanie Francis O’Connor before a Lismire point left the score 0-7 to 0-4 after twenty one minutes. Denys O’Brien pointed as the sides exchanged two more points but Newmarket finished an entertaining half in the ascendancy and this resulted in points from Robert Stack, Denys O’Brien and Colin O’Sullivan and they turned over in front by 0-11 to 0-5.

Lismire resumed with a point but Denys O’Brien with his seventh point of the game restored a six point advantage, seven minutes into the half. Lismire began to turn the contest in their favour and after adding a point the significant score of the game came in the forty second minute when the games solitary goal reduced the deficit to two points and another Lismire point left the score 0-12 to 1-8 at the three quarter stage. Anthony Crowley scored Newmarket’s first point in ten minutes but a free flowing Lismire thanks to two points, levelled the sides for the only time in the contest with ten minutes left to play. Two more unanswered points gave Lismire a two point advantage as Newmarket struggled to stay in the contest. Typically, Denys O’Brien found the target for Newmarket but Lismire made sure of the points in the dying moments and they ran out victors by two points.

The Newmarket team was…

Eamon Moynihan
William O’Flynn John Scanlon
Alan Forde Kieran Hayes T.J. Bodie
Anthony Crowley (0-2) Colin O’Sullivan (0-1)
Ian Flanagan Denys O’Brien (0-8) Seanie Francis O’Connor (0-1)
Robert Stack (0-2) Donnacha Fitzpatrick
SUBS: Martin O’Doherty, Sean Irwin, David Buckley

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors