Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

2007 Club AGM Report

The Annual General Meeting of Newmarket GAA Club took place before a big attendance at the James O’Keeffe Memorial Institute recently.

Outgoing chairperson, Mary Stack welcomed all present before the meeting commenced. Life President, Con Collins opened the meeting by congratulating the clubs winning under 21 football and Nevin Cup teams as well as Denys O’Brien on winning an All Ireland junior football medal with Cork, Gavin Forde and T.J. Brosnan on representing Cork at juvenile level and Donnacha O’Dea on his continued handballing successes.

Outgoing secretary, Conor O’Sullivan then gave an account of the clubs busy activities both on and off the field over the past year. Club treasurer, Neilie McCarthy then presented a comprehensive report of the clubs finances over the past twelve months in which the club undertook a major fundraising drive which proved a phenomenal success.

Chairperson Mary Stack reflected on a very busy year, that involved major redevelopment, namely the refurbishment of the clubs old dressing rooms, relocation and building of new tennis courts and commencement of developing a new training pitch. She gave an account of the clubs fundraising, the highlight being a Greyhound Race Night at Curraheen Park, Cork on Thursday, August 30th. She thanked all those responsible for making all fundraising ventures extremely successful, for their dedicated efforts and to all who supported each venture. The clubs successful teams were congratulated and all other teams, mentors, delegates were commended for their valued and much appreciated contributions. She paid special tribute to the clubs committee for their outstanding service and immense efforts over the year. Mary then reflected on the sad passing away during the year of past players Sam Murphy and the devastating, tragic untimely death of the very popular Diarmuid O’Brien.

County Board delegate Nelius Collins then presided over the election of officers which resulted as follows:

Life President: Con Collins
Vice Presidents: James Cross, Ted O’Sullivan, Denis O’Callaghan, Michael Daly, Paddy Hartnett, Dan Joe Daly, Con O’Sullivan, Con O’Shea, Micheal Angland
Chairperson: Mary Stack
Vice Chairman: John Feehan
Secretary/PRO: Conor O’Sullivan
Assistant Secretary/PRO: Robert Stack
Treasurer: Neilie McCarthy
Registrar: Liam Lynch
Committee: Tadhg O’Connell, Dermot Sheehan, Seanie Daly, Mossie Kenneally, John O’Keeffe, Con Collins, Michael Daly, Margaret Daly, Eileen Lehane, Michael Clifford, William Lehane, Denys O’Brien
County Board Delegates: Nelius Collins, Oliver Collins
Duhallow Board Delegates: Dan Joe Daly, Conor O’Sullivan

Appointment of Selectors:

Junior Hurling: Con O’Sullivan, Cors Kelly, Denis Fitzpatrick
Under 21 Hurling: Danny O’Flynn (manager)
Intermediate Football: Pat O’Brien (manager)
Under 21 Football: Paul Murphy (manager), Pat Flanagan, Ben O’Keeffe, Seanie Francis O’Connor, Pat O’Brien.
Minor Football: William Lehane, Victor Lane, Peter Foley.

The meeting concluded with chairperson Mary Stack wishing Parish Priest, Fr. Anthony Cronin a speedy recovery from illness before a prayer was offered for all deceased members of the club.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors