Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket crash out of Duhallow Cup

Newmarket were defeated by Ballydesmond in the inaugural Duhallow Cup competition by 0-12 to 0-9 in difficult winter conditions at Rockchapel on Sunday.

Current Duhallow champions Ballydesmond took the lead in the opening minute but Newmarket levelled in the third minute through Kevin O’Sullivan. Newmarket goalkeeper Niall O’Connor produced a wonderful save in the sixth minute and from the resultant forty five Ballydesmond regained the lead. They increased their advantage as they enjoyed the better of the exchanges by adding two further points after eighteen minutes. Newmarket finished the half well and got back into the game when scores followed through John Lane, an excellent team effort finished sublimely by the outstanding Barry O’Leary and a free from Seanie Francis O’Connor which had the teams back on level terms just minutes before the interval. Seanie Francis O’Connor then kicked a fine long range point for Newmarket as they edged in front for the first time but Ballydesmond restored parity just on half time to leave the sides deadlocked at 0-5 apiece.

Ballydesmond resumed with two quickfire points in as many minutes but Newmarket responded through substitute T.J. Bodie who kicked two points, six minutes into the half. Ballydesmond then hit the front but once again T.J. Bodie replied to leave the sides level for the fifth time at the end of the third quarter. As the game entered the final ten minutes it was Ballydesmond who pressed home their advantage and they assumed control on scoring four points in succession during this period. Newmarket battled to the end and Seanie Francis O’Connor did score the final point of the game, but this proved to be the final piece of action as Ballydesmond progressed after a keen contest on a difficult day.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
Pa O’Brien John McSweeney Mark Reidy
Barry O’Leary (0-1) Denys O’Brien Bart Daly
Gerard Casey Colin O’Sullivan
Seanie Francis O’Connor (0-3) David O’Flynn Tony O’Keeffe
John Lane (0-1) Kevin O’Sullivan (0-1) Maurice Feehan
SUBS: T.J. Bodie (0-3), Donnacha O’Dea, John Ryan, John Cronin

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors