Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket hurlers claim victory in Championship

Newmarket’s minor hurlers produced a stirring final ten minutes to claim victory over Banteer by 1-14 to 0-9, in the championship game played at the latters venue on Wednesday evening last.

Banteer opened the scoring in the second minute before the excellent Conor Cronin converted a long range free for Newmarket a minute later. Prolific midfielder John Lane got his first point in the eighth minute with Banteer then adding the next two scores. Ian Flanagan then found the target and the tight exchanges remained with four further points being shared, John Lane twice replying from play, with the sides deadlocked for a fifth time in the half. As a very even half concluded, Banteer edged ahead to turnover in front by 0-6 to 0-5.

Newmarket got off to a fine start upon the resumption with John Lane pointing three times in five minutes. Banteer had the next two scores as the sides remained level, 0-8 each at the end of the third quarter. Once more John Lane was on target but a Banteer point had the sides level for the eighth time with just ten minutes remaining. Newmarket, with the backline impressing as a unit, found the impetus at this stage and John Lane hit two more points. Bryan O’Connell increased the advantage before Eddie Allen flicked home a decisive goal. Newmarket completed victory and a fine team effort with two more points, fittingly enough coming from ace marksman John Lane.

The Newmarket team was…

David Quinlan
William O’Flynn Brendan Stack Andy Twomey
Alan Forde Conor Cronin (0-1) Billy Daly
John Ryan John Lane (0-11)
Paul Verling Robert Stack Ian Flanagan (0-1)
Damien Kelly Bryan O’Connell (0-1) Kieran Lehane
SUBS: Eddie Allen (1-0), Michael O’Leary

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors