Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket suffer narrow loss in the first round of Boherbue Co-Op Duhallow Junior Football Championship

Newmarket were narrowly defeated by Boherbue in the first round of this years Boherbue Co-Op Duhallow Junior Football Championship by 1-8 to 0-9 in a close contest, that went down to the wire, played in driving rain at Kiskeam on Tuesday evening last.

Newmarket began well and midfielder Gerard Casey had the first score of the game when he surged forward for a point after six minutes. Boherbue tied the proceedings next as the conditions got increasingly worse by the minute. John Ryan pointed next before Boherbue levelled for a second time at the end of the first quarter. Newmarket went on to enjoy a productive spell playing good football despite the elements. Colin Stack had a fine individual score kicking from long range after a long solo run. Not to be outdone wing back Anthony Crowley, who was having an excellent game kicked an inspirational point after a similar fine solo run. Full forward Shane Murphy kicked another fine point as Newmarket enjoyed a three point lead. Boherbue reduced the deficit but once more Shane Murphy kicked over a point for Newmarket. As the half came to a conclusion Boherbue found the net and landed a long range free to turn over in front by 1-4 to 0-6 at half time.

As the second half commenced the rain was now torrential and despite this both sides showed great endeavour and real championship spirit.

The impressive Shane Murphy levelled for Newmarket but Boherbue edged ahead again within a minute. At the end of the third quarter Kevin O’Connor landed a superb long range free to tie the sides for a fifth time. Boherbue hit the front with two points in quick succession but Newmarket recovered and a John Ryan point ensured a nail biting conclusion. Newmarket had a few opportunities but it was Boherbue who added to their tally. Amazingly in the final seconds Newmarket surged forward with a quick flowing move and Michael Kenneally unleashed a shot that was superbly saved by the Boherbue goalkeeper and moments later in the same movement he again produced another excellent stop to deny Kevin O’Sullivan. This proved to be the last action of the game as Boherbue claimed a place in round three. Newmarket can still progress to round three if they win their next game which will be decided by an open draw.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
David Guiney Mark Murphy Dan Murphy
Anthony Crowley (0-1) Kevin O’Connor (0-1) Matthew Fitzpatrick
Kevin O’Sullivan, Gerard Casey (0-1)
Timothy Murphy Colin Stack (0-1) Sean Doody
John Ryan (0-2) Shane Murphy (0-3) Michael Kenneally
SUBS: Brian O’Riordan, Donnacha O’Dea

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors