Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Another win for Juniors in Ducon Cup

Newmarket maintained their fine run of form by recording their third successive win in the Ducon Cup, when they defeated Kiskeam by 1-15 to 2-8 at the latters venue on Tuesday evening.

T.J. Bodie and John Cronin pointed as the sides exchanged four points in the opening ten minutes. Kiskeam struck for a goal and point before John Cronin pointed for Newmarket. A Kiskeam point was answered by one from Shane Murphy before a fine move involving Barry O’Leary, Trevor Murphy and John Cronin ended with Newmarkets leading scorer finding the net for an equalizing goal in the twenty second minute. Kiskeam edged in front by adding two points but Newmarket finished the half on level terms at 1-6 each thanks to points from T.J. Bodie and John Cronin.

Newmarket turned on a fine display after the restart. They scored six points without reply in the third quarter as they dominated proceedings. Brian Daly and Trevor Murphy led from the back while Barry O’Leary and Gerard Casey dictated around the middle. The six forwards linked very well as a unit and this resulted in a few memorable scores. T.J. Bodie and Shane Anthony Murphy began the scoring, with T.J. Bodie and Gerard Casey next to find the range. John Cronin and Trevor Murphy kept the momentum going as their side led by 1-12 to 1-6 entering the last ten minutes. Kiskeam’s challenge was ignited on converting a penalty and two rapid fire points ensured a grandstand conclusion. Newmarket rose to the challenge and the impressive Barry O’Leary punched a crucial score. Brian Daly who was a colossus throughout got a thoroughly deserved point with an excellent effort before the clinical T.J. Bodie sealed the result with his fifth point of the game.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
David Guiney Mark Murphy Matthew Fitzpatrick
Trevor Murphy (0-1) Brian Daly (0-1) Timothy Murphy
Jerry McCarthy Gerard Casey (0-1)
T.J. Bodie (0-5) John Cronin (1-4) Barry O’Leary (0-1)
Ricky Reidy Shane Murphy (0-1) Shane Anthony Murphy (0-1)
SUB: Anthony Crowley

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors