Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Impressive Junior footballers beat Boherbue

Newmarket recorded their second successive win in this years Ducon Cup after turning in a fine display, especially in the first half, in accounting for Boherbue by 1-13 to 1-5 at sun drenched Newmarket on Sunday afternoon.

Newmarket hit form from the word go and John Cronin and T.J. Bodie found the target in the opening minutes. John Cronin and a fine individual effort from Shane Anthony Murphy increased the lead before Boherbue struck with two quick points, at the end of the opening quarter. The prolific duo of John Cronin and T.J. Bodie again found the target and Boherbue kept in touch by getting a third point. Newmarket then made a significant breakthrough when Sean Doody was on hand to finish to the net from close range. Newmarket made their dominance pay for the remainder of the half with T.J. Bodie scoring a brace of points, either side of another Shane Anthony Murphy point. This left the score reading 1-9 to 0-3 in favour of the home side at half time.

Newmarket continued where they left off, upon the resumption with John Cronin and Shane Murphy landing a couple of spectacular points. The unerring John Cronin was once more on target as Newmarket took a twelve point lead. Boherbue eventually breached a well marshalled Newmarket defence for a goal at the end of the third quarter, also adding a point in their next attack. The sides exchanged a couple of points before the end with John Cronin rounding off a fine performance with his sixth point.

Newmarket impressed throughout the pitch with Trevor Murphy, Brian Daly and Anthony Crowley to the fore in defence. Jerry McCarthy and Gerard Casey were emmense at midfield putting in a tireless amount of work. John Cronin, T.J. Bodie and Shane Anthony Murphy were very much on form on the day scoring an array of points between them.

The Newmarket team was…

Paul Murphy
Anthony Crowley Brian Daly Brian O’Riordan
Trevor Murphy Bart Daly Matthew Fitzpatrick
Jerry McCarthy Gerard Casey
John Ryan John Cronin (0-6) Sean Doody (1-0)
T.J. Bodie(0-4) Shane Murphy (0-1) Shane Anthony Murphy (0-2)
SUBS: Paul Cashman, Barry O’Leary, David Guiney, Ian Flanagan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors