Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Under 21 footballers concede late goal to draw Duhallow final

The destination of this years Duhallow under 21 football title will have to be resolved on another day as Newmarket and Boherbue played out a draw after a tense, gripping and exciting contest. Played before a large attendance at Dromtariffe on Sunday evening, the sides finished level at 1-10 apiece thanks to a dramatic late Boherbue comeback, which resulted in a late equalizing goal.

John Ryan gave Newmarket a second minute lead with Boherbue on terms two minutes later. John Lane restored Newmarket’s lead but again Boherbue replied. Boherbue hit the front for the first time but a John Lane point, the first from play, yet again tied the scores. Newmarket upped their performance and points from John Ryan and the impressive John Lane gave them a two point advantage. However, Newmarket were indebted to goalkeeper Niall O’Connor for producing a superb save to keep their lead intact. Boherbue responded by adding two points to leave the sides level for the fourth time at the interval on 0-5 apiece.

Newmarket’s cause got a major boost within three minutes of the second half on being awarded a penalty when Nicky Flanagan was upended. Brian O’Riordan stepped up and duly converted to the net. Within a minute T.J. Bodie kicked a fine long range point. Boherbue recovered and two points halved the deficit. Newmarket were then spurred by an outstanding point from team captain Bart Daly who led his side with a fine performance. A Boherbue point left the score at 1-7 to 0-8 entering the final quarter. Newmarket rose to the challenge and points followed from John Lane, John Ryan and Conor Cronin to give a five point advantage with just eight minutes to play. Boherbue kept their composure and clipped the deficit on scoring two points.

As the game entered injury time, Boherbue conjured up the spirit to get the all important goal and dramatically found a way past Newmarket’s excellent goalkeeper Niall O’Connor. Newmarket had one final chance to reclaim the lead but on the balance of play, a draw was a fair result over the hour and both sides must meet again, in an eagerly awaited replay.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
David Guiney Paul Cashman Brian O’Riordan (1-0)
Conor Cronin (0-1) Micheal Murphy Sean Doody
Kevin O’Sullivan Bart Daly (0-1)
John Ryan (0-3) T.J. Bodie (0-1) Michael Kenneally
John Lane (0-4) Timothy Murphy Nicky Flanagan
SUBS: Ricky Reidy, Micheal O’Connell


Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors