Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Late goal earns draw for Glanmire

A last gasp Glanmire goal deep into injury time, denied Newmarket their first victory in this years Premier Intermediate Football League and earned a draw for the home side, 2-9 to 1-12 in blustery, wintery conditions, at Glanmire on Monday last.

Newmarket playing with the aid of a very strong breeze, started well with Seanie Francis O’Connor landing two fine long range points before Denys O’Brien got in on the act with another monster effort after ten minutes. Four minutes later, a long distance delivery from a Seanie Francis O’Connor free, saw John Cronin react quickest to the dropping ball and he fisted home to the net from the edge of the small square. Bart Daly converted a free and Denys O’Brien pointed as Newmarket made their dominance and fine flowing football play dividends. In the twenty first minute, Tony O’Keeffe intercepted a crossfield Glanmire free and he let fly to the back of the net for a super second Newmarket goal. Denys O’Brien added another point before Glanmire scored their solitary point of the half, which left the half time score 2-6 to 0-1 in Newmarkets favour.

Glanmire set about reducing the deficit immediately by scoring two early points but Seanie Francis O’Connor replied with a point for Newmarket. The home side went on to score five points without reply, mainly through frees, by the end of the third quarter, which left the score 2-7 to 0-8. A further three points brought them to within touching distance, despite Newmarkets resolute defending with Mark Reidy very prominent. Substitute Matthew Fitzpatrick fisted a point and another score from Bart Daly appeared to put Newmarket in pole position, leading by four points going into injury time. Glanmire refused to give in and a point was followed by an unstoppable goal in the third minute of injury time to cruelly deny Newmarket victory.

This was a much improved Newmarket performance with Mark Reidy, Denys O’Brien, Seanie Francis O’Connor and Tony O’Keeffe to the fore throughout.

The Newmarket team was…

James Morgan
Dermot Moynihan Mark Murphy Dan Murphy
Trevor Murphy John McSweeney Mark Reidy
Denys O’Brien (0-3) Jerry McCarthy
Bart Daly (0-2) Seanie Francis O’Connor (0-3) Kevin O’Sullivan
John Lane John Cronin (1-0) Tony O’Keeffe (1-0)
SUBS: T.J. Bodie, Anthony Crowley, Matthew Fitzpatrick (0-1)

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

    JAHC Co
    Opponent:Russell Rovers
  • Newmarket Motors