Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Unlucky U-16s lose in the Final

The game got off to a lively start with the Boherbue full forward Denis McCarthy scoring 3 points in quick succession. This was answered in turn by a goal from Ian Flanagan of Newmarket. After this blistering start the game continued as a well contested affair with scores from both teams. Newmarket giving away a lot of frees in front of goals assisting the Boherbue effort, an Alan Forde goal before half time made sure that the Newmarket team finished the first half ahead by 3 points 2-5 to 0-8.

The second half got of to a disastrous start for Newmarket as Boherbue quickly closed the deficit from a few basic defensive errors and then went ahead. Boherbue continued on gaining confidence and went ahead by 4 points at one stage. After about 20 Minutes Conor Cronin scored a goal clawing back the Boherbue lead to a single point, setting the game up for a thrilling finale. Thereafter it was point for point with Boherbue coming out as winner by a point. Full time score Newmarket 3-09 to 1-16 Boherbue.

It would have been very hard to pick a winner and Newmarket may feel they deserved a draw. Ultimately, however, there can only be one winner. Overall the game was the winner as it was high scoring, no dirty play and a very exciting finish with great effort and endeavour shown by all participants.

Damien Kelly
Darren O’Keeffe Brendan Stack Liam O’Callaghan
Andy Twomey Danny Allen T.J. Brosnan
Ian Flanagan (1-2) Conor Cronin (1-1)
Jonathan O’Connor (0-2) Bryan O’Connell (0-3 2F) Timmy O’Keeffe
Nicky Barrett Alan Forde (1-0) Eddie Allen (0-1)
SUBS: David Quinlan for Nicky Barrett 50 min

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors