Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

U-16s Make it to the Final

After the heroics of Tuesday night the Newmarket boys now had to face Millstreet on a cold Friday evening in Millstreet under lights. Match started evenly enough with Newmarket going ahead first from an Ian Flanagan Point. It was pretty much even after that in the first half with Millstreet finishing perhaps the stronger side at half time. Millstreet hitting the post and had the ball cleared off the line by Brendan stack in a few shaky moments for the Newmarket team. Scores at half time were even thanks the the help of an Alan Forde goal.

Newmarket came out at a blistering pace in the second half scoring 6 points without reply, including an excellent goal from Johnathan O’Connor, with each and every player contributing in some fashion during this fifteen minutes of total dominance. However having not replied for some time Millstreet again found their game and started to pressurize the Newmarket goal. Another goal line clearance keeping the scores apart. For all their pressure in the closing ten minutes Millstreet found it hard to capitilise with scores the win was looking good for Newmarket. However, Millstreet chipped away at the lead and where within 3 points going into time added on. Millstreet were then awarded a 20 meter free in front of goals, they knew they had only one option, go for goal. The free was struck well and smacked of the cross bar and bounced in the downward direction and was adjudged not to have crossed the line, the ball then went out of play and the ref blew for time. Another extremely close call for Newmarket who are now set to meet Boherbue in the final. Final score Newmarket 2-10 Millstreet 2-07.

Damien Kelly
Liam O’Callaghan Brendan Stack Darren O’Keefe
TJ Brosnan Danny Allen Andy Twomey
Ian Flanagan (0-4) Conor Cronin
Timmy O’Keeffe (0-1) Bryan O’Connell(0-2) Jonathan O’Connor(1-1)
Eddie Allen(0-2) Alan Forde (1-0) Nicky Barrett

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors