Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Juniors Narrowly Lose to Champions

Newmarket’s junior football team were narrowly defeated by defending champions Dromtariffe in the first round of the Boherbue Co-Op Duhallow Football Championship, 1-12 to 1-8 after an exciting contest at Castlemagner on Tuesday evening last.

A youthful and enthusiastic Newmarket side weathered an early Dromtariffe onslaught before Kevin O’Sullivan put them in front in the eleventh minute. Dromtariffe pointed twice before John Cronin gained parity. Newmarket’s efforts were boosted when goalkeeper Niall O’Connor produced a super save from a penalty in the nineteenth minute. Newmarket responded with points from Bart Daly and T.J. Bodie. Dromtariffe were next to score but Nicky Flanagan replied for Newmarket. Dromtariffe hit back again but a Kevin O’Sullivan point left Newmarket ahead in a tight contest by 0-6 to 0-5 at half time.

Dromtariffe levelled ten minutes after the restart before edging in front. Newmarket’s endevours were rewarded when Nicky Flanagan pounced to score a goal at the three quarter mark. Dromtariffe hit back with two points to leave the sides level for the fourth time with seven minutes remaining. Dromtariffe were next to score but with the game on a knife edge Newmarket pointed through Bart Daly. Substitute Donnacha Fitzpatrick looked to have kicked a decisive point with only minutes to go but Dromtariffe showed the mettle of champions by pointing twice before scoring a late late goal to claim victory at the death.

Niall O’Connor
Donnacha O’Dea Shane Murphy Anthony Crowley
Michael Kenneally Timothy Murphy Trevor Murphy
Kevin O’Sullivan (0-2) Gerard Casey
Maurice Feehan Bart Daly (0-2) John Ryan
Nicky Flanagan (1-1) John Cronin (0-1) T.J. Bodie (0-1)
SUB: Donnacha Fitzpatrick (0-1)

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors