Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers qualify for knockout stages with strong display

The hurlers of Newmarket confirmed their Duhallow Junior A semi final spot on Saturday evening, with a convincing display over Castlemagner in Tullylease.

Needing at least a draw to progress to the knockout stages, the outcome looked decided by the interval. An even enough start to the tie saw Newmarket lead 0-06 to 0-03 after ten minutes with Hugh O’Connor (3), Donal Hannon and Barry O’Connor (2) on target. This was followed up by an unanswered burst of a goal and seven points, with Rory Lynn bagging the goal and points coming from Donal Hannon (3), Hugh O’Connor, Darren O’Keeffe, Barry O’Connor and Aidan Browne, to put Newmarket in a dominant 1-13 to 0-03 position. A 21st minute point from Rory Lynn cancelled out an earlier Castlemagner effort, with Hugh O’Connor doing the same moments later. Closing scores from Ryan O’Keeffe (2), Aidan Browne and Donal Hannon confirmed Newmarket’s unassailable position at the break, as the led 1-19 to 0-05.

Newmarket continued to control the game on it’s resumption, rattling off 1-03 in the opening six minutes through points from Darren O’Keeffe, Hugh O’Connor and full forward Rory Lynn with Donal Hannon adding a goal to his total. A point from substitute Kevin O’Sullivan on the 41st minute ensured Newmarket held a 22 point lead, which was maintained by a Hannon brace of frees, as the game entered the final ten minutes. Castlemagner enjoyed a mini revival in the closing stages of the contest, which was kicked off with the awarding of a penalty on 54 minutes. The opportunity was dispatched to the Newmarket net and the side went on to score four more points in the remaining minutes. In that time Donal Hannon and Ryan O’Keeffe converted opportunities for Newmarket, rounding off a resounding 2-27 to 1-13 victory and confirming their position at the top of their group. The side now moves on to play Kilbrin on Sunday the 17th of September in Freemount, with Millstreet taking on Dromtarriffe in the other semi final.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Donal Hannon (1-08, 4f), Hugh O’Connor (0-06), Rory Lynn (1-02), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-03), Barry O’Connor (0-03), Darren O’Keeffe (0-02), Aidan Browne (0-02), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-01).

Shane McAuliffe
Paudie Allen Josh O'Keeffe Alan Ryan
Paddy Browne Aidan Browne Mikey Browne
Hugh O'Connor John Ryan
Ryan O'Keeffe Cathal Browne Barry O'Connor
Donal Hannon Rory Lynn Darren O'Keeffe
Subs: Jack O'Connor, Donnacha Fitzpatrick, Kevin O'Sullivan, Michael Lane, Gavin Forde

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors