Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers bow out of Championship

The Newmarket hurlers bowed out of the Duhallow junior A hurling championship on Saturday afternoon in controversial fashion.

In what was a repeat of the league final, Newmarket had to play the majority of the match against Dromtarriffe with 14 men, following the sending off of Kevin O’Sullivan in the opening moments of the match, following the coming together of two players. Dromtarriffe made most of their advantage against the stunned Newmarket side, opening up a heavy 0-01 to 2-09 lead after 20 minutes. The league champions began to work their way into the game, initially with a well taken goal by the ever dangerous Rory Lynn. A trio of Gavin Forde frees along with a point from Lynn reduced the arrears to 1-05 to 2-11, at the break.

Forde and Lynn were to the fore after the resumption, adding further points to Newmarket’s total. The impressive Lynn struck moments later with an unstoppable goal from distance. A Conor O’Keeffe free on 39 minutes closed the gap to just four points. In the closing quarter of the contest Dromtarriffe were able to find sufficient scores to keep the opposition at bay and despite points from Rory Lynn, Barry O’Connor and goalkeeper Ben Newman, the gallant Newmarket effort was to no avail, as they lost out 2-11 to 2-19, at the Kilbrin venue.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Rory Lynn (2-04, 1f), Gavin Forde (0-03, 3f), Barry O’Connor (0-02), Ben Newman (0-01, 1f), Conor O’Keeffe (c) (0-01, 1f).

Ben Newman
Josh O'Keeffe Alan Ryan Daniel Norton
Jack O'Connor Mikey Cottrell Paudie Allen
Mikey Browne Gavin Forde
Cathal Browne Rory Lynn Kevin O'Sullivan
Darren O'Keeffe Conor O'Keeffe Barry O'Connor
Subs: Ryan O'Keeffe, Paddy Browne, John Ryan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    U21 AHC
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors