Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2024 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers pipped at the final whistle

The Newmarket hurlers travelled to Banteer on the 27th of March, to contest the opening round of the Twohigs Super Valu Junior A Duhallow hurling league.

In what turned out to be a high scoring affair, Banteer hit the front early on with an unanswered 1-01. The visitors slowly edged their way into the match, levelling it up, 0-04 to 1-01, on 11 minutes. The scores were shared over the next ten minutes, with each side adding four points to their respective totals. A quieter closing period to the half saw Newmarket edge slightly ahead, to lead 0-10 to 1-05, at the break.

The visitors had the brighter start to the second period, extending the advantage marginally, 0-13 to 1-07, on 39 minutes. The home side continued to remain in contention though, narrowing the gap to just a point, heading into the final quarter. The titanic tussle continued, with Banteer levelling the contest on four occasions before Newmarket found some breathing space on 58 minutes, with a 0-20 to 1-15 lead. Alas, a trio points in injury-time, ensured the home side took the victory, winning an entertaining match-up, 0-20 to 1-18.

The Newmarket team….

Ben Newman
Daniel Norton Kevin O'Sullivan Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Paddy Browne John Ryan Josh O'Keeffe
Alan Ryan Gavin Forde
Niall Collins Cathal Browne Darren O'Keeffe
Conor O'Keeffe Shane McAuliffe Barry O'Connor
Subs: Colin O'Sullivan for Niall Collins, Tadhg Ryan for Shane McAuliffe


Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 3 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors