Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2021 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior hurlers progress to league semi with convincing win

The hurlers of Newmarket and Kanturk travelled to Tullylease on Friday night last, the 6th of August, to contest the quarter final of the Twohig’s Duhallow Junior A Hurling League.

In weather more suited to ducks, it was Newmarket who started the brighter. Their account opened with a Gavin Forde free, followed by a brace from Cathal Browne. Another Forde placed ball score on eight minutes, as well as points from Michael Cottrell and Mike Browne, to put Newmarket up 0-06 to 0-00, at the first water break. Kanturk produced their first scores of the match on 21 and 23 minutes. These were quickly cancelled out by a pair of points from Michael Cottrell, playing alongside his brother, David, in midfield. On 30 minutes Kanturk reduced the margin to five, with a score of their own. Entering injury time, Stephen Stokes, playing in a field close to his heart, rounded off Newmarket’s scoring with a well taken goal, giving his side an eight point lead at the break.

Newmarket continued their dominance into the second half, with goals from Gavin Forde and Conor O’Keeffe and a point from Stephen Stokes, all in the first ten minutes. A fourth and final goal from David Cottrell extended the advantage to 4-09 to 0-03. Entering into the last fifteen minutes of the contest, a Forde free was quickly followed by points from Niall Collins, Colin O’Sullivan and Conor O’Keeffe. On 57 minutes, Shane McAuliffe rounded off the evening’s scoring, to secure a 4-14 to 0-03 win for Newmarket and a place in the semi-final.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Gavin Forde (1-03), Stephen Stokes (1-01), Conor O’Keeffe (1-01), Mikey Cottrell(0-03), David Cottrell (1-00), Cathal Browne (0-02), Niall Collins (0-01), Colin O’Sullivan (0-01), Shane McAuliffe (0-01), Mikey Browne (0-01).

Ben Newman
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Kevin O'Sullivan Paudie Allen
Josh O'Keeffe John Ryan Jamie Hayes
Mikey Cottrell David Cottrell
Mikey Browne Gavin Forde Stephen Stokes
Darren O'Keeffe Conor O'Keeffe Cathal Browne
Subs: Niall Collins, Colin O'Sullivan, Shane McAuliffe, Sean Murphy, Peter Goggin, Robert Stack, Paudie O'Sullivan, Eddie Allen.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors