Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket Start Hurling Campaign With Victory

Newmarket Junior A hurlers began their 2016 Hurling season with an enterprising win over Millstreet in the Duhallow Hurling League.

Millstreet started this game the brighter and raised a green flag with the opening score of the game as a long delivery found its way to the back of the net after four minutes. Newmarket responded impressively by registering the next six points of the match with Donal Hannon, Conor O’Keeffe, Barry O’Connor and Paudie Allen all splitting the posts. Millstreet registered their first point of the match on the nineteenth minute but this was again followed by a scoring spree from Newmarket. Again it was Donal Hannon who accounted for the next four points and Shane Congo Murphy also sent the sliothar between the posts. Millstreet raised a white flag on the stroke of half time to leave the score 0-11 to 1-2 in favour of Newmarket at the break.

The second half was barely two minutes old when a long delivery was collected by full forward Colin O’Sullivan who then laid a pass off to Conor O’Keeffe and he fired a shot past the Millstreet goal keeper to rattle the net. Millstreet performed much better in the second half and tightened up their defence considerably. They also managed to record their second goal of the game as the blasted a 21 metre free past the Newmarket defenders. Newmarket and Millstreet proceeded to trade points with Donal Hannon again scoring Newmarket’s next three points. Millstreet replied to each Hannon score with a point of their own but it was not enough to mount a comeback. Ryan O’Keeffe and Jack Guiney each scored a point for Newmarket close out the game. The final score line read Newmarket 1-16 Millstreet 2-05

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Donal Hannon (0-10), Conor O’Keeffe (1-01), Paudie Allen (0-01), Jack Guiney (0-01), Shane Congo Murphy (0-01), Barry O’Connor (0-01), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-01)

Shane McAuliffe
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Robert Stack John Scanlon
Gavin Forde John Ryan Alan Ryan
Paudie Allen Jack Guiney
Shane Murphy Donal Hannon Michael Kenneally
Conor O'Keeffe Colin O'Sullivan Barry O'Connor
Subs: Ryan O’Keeffe (0-1), Darren O’Keeffe, Daniel Nortan, Eoin O’Connell, Pa O’Brien

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors