Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior b footballers progress to league final

Newmarket advanced to the final of the Duhallow Junior B Football League after a victory over near neighbours Glenlara, by 2-15 to 2-12 in an entertaining contest played on a sunny Sunday evening at Rockchapel.

A high scoring encounter began with Glenlara pointing within a minute of the throw in. Newmarket levelled instantly as the impressive John Lane kicked a point. Steven Stokes advanced from his centre half back position to kick a point but a Glenlara free tied the sides for a second time within seven minutes. The next two scores were also divided as John Lane briefly gave Newmarket a lead. Newmarket enjoyed a dominant spell during the middle period of the half. Five points followed in a productive spell with T.J. Bodie accounting for three points as John Lane and Shane Murphy also got in on the act of finishing off some fine approach play. Glenlara recovered and rocked Newmarket with two goals in as many minutes to regain the lead by a point. Newmarket kept their composure and impressively added another four points in quick succession. Shane Murphy kicked a superb equalizer and points from Pa O’Brien, T.J. Bodie and Eddie Allen helped Newmarket into a three point lead. The half ended with a Glenlara point from a free and Newmarket held a slender lead of 0-12 to 2-4 at the end of the first period.

The second half resumed with both sides exchanging pointed frees as T.J. Bodie answered an earlier Glenlara score. A tight third quarter unfolded as Glenlara cut the deficit to a single point. As in the first half, Newmarket reaped the benefits of an excellent spell towards the middle period of the half and significantly struck for two goals. Twelve minutes into the half a move which instigated from a quickly taken free by Steven Stokes deep in his own half ended with Shane Murphy smashing home a stunning goal to the roof of the net. The score owed much to the teamwork of several players including John Lane and Daniel Culloty but it was Jonathan Flaherty that instigated an opening with a blistering solo run through the heart of the Glenlara defence before Shane Murphy unleashed his piledriver to the net. Glenlara replied with a point before John Lane added to his tally with a fine point from play. In the seventeenth minute, substitutes Daniel Culloty and Barry O’Connor combined before the latter found the net with another deadly finish. A John Lane point, left Newmarket with a clear lead of 2-15 to 2-7 with eleven minutes remaining. Glenlara dominated the remainder of the contest as they poured forward deep into Newmarket defensive territory. The Newmarket defence were under severe pressure and Glenlara clipped away at the deficit with a series of points as they hit five points in succession. Newmarket survived a tense conclusion and were somewhat relieved to hear the final whistle to advance to the final.

The Newmarket team and scorers…
John Lane (0-5), T.J. Bodie (0-5), Shane Murphy (1-2), Barry O’Connor (1-0), Steven Stokes (0-1), Pa O’Brien (0-1), Eddie Allen (0-1).

Shane McAuliffe
Michael O’Leary John Scanlon Jeremy Murphy
Niall O’Connor Stephen Stokes Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Alan Ryan Jonathan Flaherty
John Lane Pa O’Brien Eddie Allen
T.J. Bodie Shane Murphy Nicky Flanagan
Subs: Gavin Forde, Daniel Culloty, Barry O’Connor, Jamie Hayes, Alan Forde.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors