Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers finish league with a draw

Newmarket completed their junior hurling league programme with a share of the spoils after a draw of 1-14 apiece with Millstreet in dreary wet conditions on a dark night in Newmarket. Already assured of qualification for the semi finals, the result ensured Newmarket finished second in the league table on thirteen points from eight games.

Newmarket got off to a perfect start despite the inclement weather, after four minutes. Padraig Allen played a probing pass into attack and Tony O’Keeffe did superbly to gather possession and finish emphatically to the net for a fine goal. Gavin Forde and Paul Verling added pointed frees as Newmarket coped with the trying conditions. Millstreet opened their account with a point in the eleventh minute from a free but Newmarket were fluent at times as Paul Verling twice and Colin O’Sullivan hit over a trio of points. Millstreet added a second point but a fine Tony O’Keeffe score gave Newmarket a lead of 1-6 to 0-2 after twenty three minutes. Millstreet added two quick points before the sides traded six points in a lively conclusion to the half. Paul Verling was again on target for the fourth time in the half with Jack Guiney and Eddie Allen hitting excellent scores. Newmarket turned around with a half time lead of 1-9 to 0-7.

Millstreet were the dominant force during the third quarter. A third minute point was followed by a goal in the sixth minute and by the tenth minute another Millstreet point had the sides level for the first time at 1-9 each. Millstreet took the lead for the first time on pointing a free but Gavin Forde by similar means with Newmarket’s first score of the half, left the sides level at 1-10 apiece midway through the half. Both sides tried to gain the initiative but it was a very even contest for the remainder of the game. Gavin Forde was quick to level after Millstreet led again. The visitors added another two points but Newmarket were intent on keeping in touch as Tadgh Ryan and Gavin Forde gained parity with little over three minutes remaining. Newmarket took the lead with an outstanding effort from Jack Guiney but their joy was short lived as Millstreet levelled the contest for a final time with a terrific long range free from out on the sideline.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Tony O’Keeffe (1-1), Gavin Forde (0-4), Paul Verling (0-4), Jack Guiney (0-2), Colin O’Sullivan (0-1), Eddie Allen (0-1), Tadgh Ryan (0-1).

Barry O'Leary
Alan Forde Robert Stack Nicky Flanagan
Eoin O'Connell John Ryan Paudie Allen
Gavin Forde Pa O’Brien
Jack Guiney John Scanlon Colin O'Sullivan
Eddie Allen Tony O'Keeffe Paul Verling
Subs: Tadgh Ryan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors