Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

League opener ends in defeat

Newmarket were defeated as they opened their league campaign with a home tie against Ballincollig at Newmarket on a wet Sunday afternoon, the visitors emerging clear winners by 1-17 to 1-9.

Ballincollig were impressive from the outset as a sharp shooting forward line made light of difficult conditions kicking two fine points within the first four minutes of the contest.

Newmarket replied as Shane Murphy converted a free before Michael Cottrell kicked a superb equalizing point in the eighth minute. The sides traded points with Bart Daly clinical from a forty five for Newmarket to tie the teams for a second time midway through the half.

Ballincollig edged in front once more before a dangerously dipping sideline kick evaded a crowded goalmouth and nestled into the net for a Ballincollig goal. Two further points followed as the visitors raced into a six point lead.

Shane Murphy pointed next for Newmarket but Ballincollig strengthened their position with two more points. Kevin O’Sullivan slotted over a fifth Newmarket point but Ballincollig replied with a similar result.

Newmarket were rewarded late in the half when the lively Barry O’Connor found Shane Murphy and he delivered a well taken finish to the corner of the net for a fine goal. Ballincollig scored the final point of the half and entered the break with a lead of 1-10 to 1-5.

Shane Murphy was unerring for Newmarket and his assured shooting brought Newmarket the first two points of the second half.

Ballincollig gradually assumed the ascendency as they added the next three points. Shane Murphy kept Newmarket in touch but a more potent Ballincollig added to their tally by virtue of three points without reply.

Shane Murphy maintained his highly productive afternoon with yet another well taken free but Ballincollig rounded out the afternoon with the final score of the game to run out impressive winners.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Shane Murphy (1-6), Bart Daly (0-1), Michael Cottrell (0-1), Kevin O’Sullivan (0-1)

David Quinlan
Alan Ryan John Ryan Gavin Forde
Stephen Stokes Paudie Allen Donal Hannon
Colin O'Sullivan Bart Daly
Michael Cottrell Kevin O'Sullivan Tony O'Keeffe
Eddie Allen Shane Murphy Barry O'Connor
Subs: John Lane, Nicky Flanagan, Jamie Hayes

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors