Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Juniors show spirit after slow start

Despite a nightmare opening fifteen minutes, Newmarket showed commendable spirit in defeat against Millstreet by 2-13 to 0-12 in the first round of the Kanturk Credit Union Duhallow Junior Football Championship played on a remarkably perfect playing surface in Ballydesmond on Saturday night.

Millstreet stamped their authority from the outset by pointing within seconds of the throw in. A goal followed in the seventh minute before Newmarket got off the mark thanks to a well executed point from Barry O’Connor, after telling contributions from Brendan and Robert Stack and Eddie Allen.

Millstreet added a point and on converting a twelfth minute penalty with a second goal, three further points stretched the lead to a ten point margin midway through the half.

Newmarket captain John Cronin led by example with commendable work rate throughout and he got his sides second point on scoring a free in the seventeenth minute. Newmarket improved considerably while the forwards were potent when supplied with possession. Barry O’Connor and Michael Kenneally kicked two splendid points before Millstreet had their next point. Three minutes before the interval, Barry O’Connor went agonisingly close to finding the net but Gavin Forde was on hand to kick a neatly taken point from the resulting passage of play.

Millstreet completed the half with a point to lead by 2-8 to 0-5 at the turnover.

Millstreet pointed four minutes after the resumption but for the next fifteen minutes Newmarket had a telling period of dominance. A feature throughout was a stunning array of points scored from play by Newmarket. Gavin Forde and Jonathan Flaherty pointed before the pick of the scores came courtesy of Matthew Fitzpatrick. Robert Stack found the attacking left half back with a well placed kicked pass before he unleashed a mammoth kick which glided between the posts.

Newmarket competed well all over the pitch with Brendan Stack and John Cronin central to matters at midfield. When Eddie Allen and Jonathan Flaherty added points, Newmarket reduced the arrears to 2-9 to 0-10 with thirteen minutes remaining having scored five points in succession. Millstreet stemmed the comeback with three points either side of a spectacular save from Newmarket goalkeeper Niall O’Connor to gain a telling advantage once more. Newmarket battled to the end as Shane Murphy and John Cronin added further points.

Millstreet scored the final point of the night as Newmarket now have to face Boherbue in Round 2.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Jonathan Flaherty (0-2), John Cronin (0-2), Barry O’Connor (0-2), Gavin Forde (0-2), Shane Murphy (0-1), Matthew Fitzpatrick (0-1), Michael Kenneally (0-1), Eddie Allen (0-1).

Niall O’Connor
Michael O’Leary Mark Murphy Alan Ryan
Stephen Stokes Brendan Stack Matthew Fitzpatrick
Michael Kenneally Jonathan Flaherty
Eddie Allen John Cronin Jack Birthley
Barry O'Connor Robert Stack Gavin Forde
Subs: Shane Murphy, Donnacha Fitzpatrick, Anthony Crowley.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors