Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior b hurlers defeated by Banteer

A goal in either half proved decisive as Banteer overcame Newmarket’s challenge by 2-10 to 0-10 in a well contested junior B league game played in Banteer on Wednesday evening.

Newmarket, in their first league outing of the season took the lead when Anthony Crowley pointed a free after seven minutes. Banteer levelled instantly before edging in front with an eleventh minute free. Newmarket regained parity when Gavin Forde supplied Eddie Allen and he provided a neatly taken point from distance. Newmarket regained the lead as Gavin Forde pointed a free midway through the half. In the seventeenth minute, the game swung in favour of Banteer as Newmarket failed to clear deep in their goalmouth and the ball ended in the back of the net. Newmarket failed to add to their tally as they struggled to make an impact on the scoreboard. In defence, Eamon Murphy and Robert Stack were outstanding but Banteer stretched their lead by adding four points in succession to turnover in front by 1-6 to 0-3.

Banteer pointed a free within a minute of the restart but Billy Daly replied with an excellent effort from distance on the right hand sideline. Two points were then exchanged with Anthony Crowley on target for Newmarket. Donnacha Fitzpatrick worked well to create an opening for Barry O’Connor who slotted over a well taken point and a minute later Anthony Crowley repeated the feat as Newmarket cut the deficit, 1-8 to 0-7. Unfortunately for Newmarket, as they appeared to be gaining momentum, Banteer pounced for a second goal and added a point for good measure. Newmarket recovered and the effective Barry O’Connor recorded his second point of the half. Gavin Forde added a brace of points from frees as Newmarket competed gamely to the end. Banteer ultimately had the final say with a late point to leave two clear goals between the sides at the conclusion.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Gavin Forde (0-3), Anthony Crowley (0-3), Barry O’Connor (0-2), Eddie Allen (0-1), Billy Daly (0-1).

Paul Verling
Michael O’Leary Robert Stack Eamon Murphy
Billy Lane Gavin Forde Alan Ryan
Eddie Allen Pa O’Brien
Kieran Lehane Anthony Crowley Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Danny O'Connell Billy Daly Barry O'Connor
Subs: Nicky Barrett, Shane Anthony Murphy, William O'Flynn.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors