Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Late rally sees off Emmets

A return of one goal and four points in the final ten minutes enabled Kanturk to progress into the semi finals of the Duhallow under 21 football championship by 1-12 to 0-9, after an otherwise tight and evenly contested encounter against Robert Emmets at Millstreet on Friday night.

Robert Emmets had the advantage of a significant breeze in the first half and the combined Newmarket/Lismire side began positively. Cathal Noonan and Daniel Culloty linked up with Eddie Allen and he pointed superbly in the second minute.  Daniel Culloty doubled the lead a minute later on converting a free but Kanturk responded with their first point of the evening instantly. A second Kanturk point levelled the sides for the first time of an open, free flowing, and entertaining contest.

Daniel Culloty pointed clinically to edge Robert Emmets in front again after a chance was created thanks to the endeavours of Jonathan Flaherty and Barry O’Connor. Gavin Forde added another memorable point to double the lead but Kanturk pointed twice to once again gain parity with six first half minutes remaining. Daniel Culloty pointed his second free as the sides exchanged points before Robert Emmets went into the interval following the conclusion of a fine half’s football with a slender advantage as Gavin Forde pointed to gain a 0-6 to 0-5 lead.

The second half developed into a scrappier, stop-start affair with the highly committed sides leaving nothing in their quest for success. Robert Emmets weathered the Kanturk onslaught as the wind advantage was now well in their opponents favour and Cathal Noonan boosted Robert Emmets challenge with a point ten minutes into the second half. Kanturk pointed twice and midway through the half, the sides remained deadlocked for a fourth time at 0-7 apiece. Kanturk hit the front for the first time but Robert Emmets were again on level terms with Brian O’Callaghan clipping over a point with ten minutes remaining. Kanturk found an extra gear and struck over three points in four minutes to gain the biggest lead of the night up to that point. With three minutes remaining Kanturk sealed the issue on converting a penalty but a battling, youthful Robert Emmets side competed to the end as a final Kanturk point was answered in similar fashion by the impressive Donal Hannon.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Daniel Culloty (0-3), Gavin Forde (0-2), Donal Hannon (0-1), Cathal Noonan (0-1), Eddie Allen (0-1), Brian O’Callaghan (0-1).

David Quinlan
Jeremy Murphy Michael O’Leary Paudie Allen
Eoin Murphy Donal Hannon Alan Ryan
T. J. Brosnan Cathal Noonan
Eddie Allen Daniel Culloty Brian O'Callaghan
Barry O'Connor Jonathan Flaherty Gavin Forde
Subs: Colm Noonan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors