Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Minor footballers begin season with a league victory over Mill Rovers

Newmarket’s minor football team began their season with a league victory over Mill Rovers by 2-11 to 1-12 at Mallow on Sunday.

Newmarket began the contest in blistering fashion with Michael Cottrell and Daniel Culloty on target within two minutes. Con McAuliffe added a third point in the fifth minute before a well worked goal followed after eight minutes play. Donal Hannon placed a probing ball into the Newmarket forward line which Jonathan Flaherty offloaded to Barry O’Connor who blasted home low past the goalkeeper to the back of the net.

Newmarket maintained their dominance with a second goal two minutes later, this time Peter Lynch made the net bulge with another well finished goal as Newmarket earned a nine point advantage. Mill Rovers settled on scoring two points in quick succession midway through the half and they made further inroads as another two points cut the deficit to 2-3 to 0-4 after twenty minutes of play. Newmarket found their rhythm again as Daniel Culloty made their efforts pay dividends on the scoreboard. The Newmarket centre half forward reeled off four points in succession to leave Newmarket with a commanding 2-7 to 0-4 advantage at the halfway mark.

Mill Rovers resumed in whirlwind fashion and scored three points in the opening minutes of the half. Michael Cottrell kicked an outstanding point for Newmaket but Mill Rovers controlled proceedings during this phase of the game and a goal eleven minutes into the half in addition to three further points reduced the margin to a solitary point. Newmarket found the resolve to pull ahead once more and three superbly taken points by Michael Cottrell, Daniel Culloty and Alan Ryan re-established their authority. Mill Rovers completed the scoring but Newmarket earned the points on offer to get their campaign off to an ideal start.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Daniel Culloty (0-6), Michael Cottrell (0-3), Peter Lynch (1-0), Barry O’Connor (1-0), Con McAuliffe (0-1), Alan Ryan (0-1).

Eoin O'Connell
Jamie Hayes Paudie Allen
Jeremy Murphy Donal Hannon Con McAuliffe
Jonathan Flaherty Michael Cottrell
Alan Ryan Daniel Culloty Peter Lynch
Barry O'Connor Danny O'Connell
Subs: aniel O’Doherty, Shane Drumm, Damien O’Keeffe

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors