Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers lose entertaining game

The Newmarket junior B hurling team began their league campaign with a home defeat against Kanturk in a high scoring contest, 4-13 to 3-10 in an entertaining game played on Monday evening.

John Lane set the trend for the evening with a quality point within two minutes with Kanturk answering with two points in quick succession. Newmarket regained the lead in the seventh minute when full forward Niall O’Connor was on hand to find the net from close range with the impressive Jonathan Flaherty pointing to increase the advantage. Kanturk gained parity as a result of a thirteenth minute goal before a Shane Murphy point gave Newmarket a lead of 1-3 to 1-2 after fourteen minutes play. Kanturk pounced for a second goal but Newmarket pointed next with a well taken score from Danny O’Connell. Newmarket regained the lead once more in the twenty second minute when the industrious Jonathan Flaherty placed John Lane in on goal and he found the net for a second goal. An end to end contest continued and points were exchanged with Jonathan Flaherty again on target for Newmarket. The half concluded with Kanturk adding two points, which left the teams level for a third time, 2-5 apiece at the turnover.

Kanturk resumed with two points before Niall O’Connor pointed a free in the seventh minute of the half. Kanturk hit back with a point before increasing their advantage thanks to a third goal. Niall O’Connor again found the target from a free but Kanturk stretched their lead to six points thanks to another brace of points. Kanturk took a commanding position as a result of a fourth goal of the evening as again Newmarket relied on Niall O’Connor to stay in touch with another two points. The high rate of scoring continued to the end. Kanturk pointed on three further occasions as Newmarket added to their tally through a John Lane point and a fine individual goal from Jonathan Flaherty.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Niall O’Connor (1-4), John Lane (1-2), Jonathan Flaherty (1-2), Shane Murphy (0-1), Danny O’Connell (0-1).

Shane McAuliffe
Michael O’Leary Billy Daly Nicky Barrett
Paudie Allen Michael Kenneally Robert Stack
John Lane Shane Murphy
Donnacha Fitzpatrick Jonathan Flaherty Eddie Allen
Luke McCarthy Niall O’Connor Danny O'Connell
Subs: Billy Lane.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors