Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Minor footballers endure first league defeat to Millstreet

Newmarket’s minor footballers endured their first league defeat in their third outing when they were at the end of a heavy defeat against an outstanding Millstreet side by 5-7 to 0-9 at Millstreet on Monday evening.

Millstreet stated their intent from the outset and struck for a goal within two minutes. Newmarket’s defence were under incessant pressure and in the eighth minute the home side scored a second goal. Newmarket struggled early on to make an impact but got two points in quick succession through well executed frees from both Luke McCarthy and T.J. Brosnan as the opening quarter came to a conclusion. Millstreet added a brace of points before two clinical goals within a minute put them out of sight. They added to their tally with another two points but Newmarket to their credit kept plugging away and were rewarded for their efforts with two well taken points from Gavin Forde and Nicky Barrett. As the half concluded, Millstreet enjoyed a clear four goal lead, 4-4 to 0-4.

Luke McCarthy pointed within two minutes of the second half but Millstreet added two points by the fifth minute. Newmarket improved considerably in the second half but despite David Enright pointing, a ruthless Millstreet attack goaled for a fifth time. Newmarket were bolstered considerably by the display of substitute Jamie Hayes in defence with David Enright and Gavin Forde on target at the other end. The game ended with Nicky Barrett adding a point to the Newmarket tally but the rampant Millstreet side had long since put the result well beyond doubt.
The Newmarket team and scorers…

Gavin Forde (0-2), David Enright (0-2), Nicky Barrett (0-2), Luke McCarthy (0-2), T.J. Brosnan (0-1).

Shane McAuliffe
Donncadha Drumm Alan Ryan Danny O'Connell
Con McAuliffe Paudie Allen Billy Lane
T. J. Brosnan Patrick Kelly
Jacko Flaherty Gavin Forde David Enright
Nicky Barrett Luke McCarthy Vinny Molloy
Subs: Jamie Hayes, Barry O’Connor, Daniel Culloty, Eoin O’Connell.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors