Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket end season with defeat

Newmarket’s intermediate footballers concluded their season with a defeat in their first appearance in a Duhallow Cup final as they lost out to Kiskeam by 2-6 to 1-5 at a foggy Ballydesmond on Saturday afternoon.

Newmarket began brightly and were rewarded as John Ryan converted two frees in the third and sixth minute. Kiskeam responded and by the ninth minute two points had the sides level for the only time in the contest.

John Lane edged Newmarket in front again in the eleventh minute but at this stage the scoring rate dipped considerably as the winter ground conditions made forward play and scoring opportunities extremely difficult.

The only other score of the half was decisive and came in the twentieth minute. Newmarket were indecisive in dealing with a probing ball that dropped in their goalmouth and having failed to deal with the situation on a couple of occasions they were punished as Kiskeam rifled the ball to the net from close range. Both sides provided endeavour but both defences held out as the half concluded with Kiskeam in front by 1-2 to 0-3.

Kiskeam were far more prolific as the second half developed and within eight minutes added three points to their advantage. Newmarket struggled to make an impact and as the third quarter concluded, Kiskeam struck for a second goal to take a significant eight point lead.

Newmarket ended a long barren spell without a score with John Lane slotting over a point. Newmarket endeavoured to get back into the contest but found their opponents difficult to break down.

Newmarket were given a lifeline on being awarded a penalty with five minutes remaining. Team captain, Brian O’Riordan who impressed in defence strode forward to convert for a goal which brought the arrears to four points. However, Newmarket’s hopes were thwarted with Kiskeam adding an insurance point but they kept battling to the end with David O’Flynn scoring the final point of the contest.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
Sean Doody   Mark Murphy   Brian O’Riordan (1-0)
Kevin O’Connor   Denys O’Brien   Timothy Murphy
  Colin O’Sullivan   Bart Daly  
John Lane (0-2)   Kevin O’Sullivan   David O’Flynn (0-1)
John Ryan (0-2)   T.J. Bodie   Tony O’Keeffe
SUBS: Nicky Flanagan, Gerard Casey, Conor Cronin, Ian Flanagan, Robert Stack

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors