Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Under 16 footballers continue winning ways

Friday night, 26th June, saw the resumption of the U16 football league with Newmarket taking on Dromtariffe at Newmarket on a fine summers evening.

The game started with Dromtariffe on the attack, scoring a point in under a minute. Newmarket swiftly replied with a Vince Molloy goal on five minutes. This was answered with a Dromtariffe goal on seven minutes. With a further point from TJ Brosnan on 9 minutes the sides were level. Newmarket took the game to Dromtariffe for the rest of the first half scoring a further six points, four from TJ Brosnan and one each from Luke McCarthy and Danny O’Connell. However Newmarket’s shooting accuracy was a little erratic with a total of seven wides in the first half. They also tired somewhat toward the end of the half and let Dromtariffe back in with three further points from frees. So at half time Newmarket felt they should have been ahead by more than just three points. The half time score was 1 – 7 to 1- 4.

In the second half Newmarket again were in control of large sections of the play with a goal form David Enright on 31 minutes they should have gone on to dominate proceedings but where guilty of overplaying things at times, letting Dromtariffe in for two easily taken goals. Newmarket’s general play was good but wasteful shooting and passing meant they didn’t dominate on the scoreboard. With points from Vince Molloy, David Enright, Nicky Barrett, and Evan O’Keeffe Newmarket ran out winners by three points. Final Score 2-13 to 3 – 7. This was a good contest played with fairness and commitment, a credit to both teams. Newmarket have now won all four of their games this year and will now definitely qualify for a Semi-Finals place.

The Newmarket team was…

Shane McAuliffe
Billy Lane   Jack Birtley   Timmy O’Flynn
Con McAuliffe   Patrick Kelly   Paudie Allen
  TJ Brosnan (0-6)   David Enright (1-1)  
Nicky Barrett (0-2)   Vincent Molloy (1-2)   Jacko Flaherty
Danny O’Connell (0-1)   Luke McCarthy (0-1)   Ger Murphy
SUBS:Peter Lynch, Evan O’Keeffe, Daniel Culloty, Alan Ryan, Donal Hannon

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors