Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket defeated in first outing of 2009 league

Newmarket were defeated in their first outing of this years Division 3 Intermediate football league when they travelled to St. Michaels and were on the receiving end of a 0-12 to 0-9 scoreline.

The sides took time to settle on a solid playing surface with a strong crossfield breeze making conditions a little difficult. Impressive midfielder John Ryan slotted over the first point of the contest in the fifth minute from a free in Newmarket’s first attack. St. Michaels squandered several scoring chances through wayward shooting while Newmarket lost the services of Pa O’Brien after he sustained a back injury. St. Michaels eventually found the range in the fifteenth minute. Some enterprising attacking play saw John Ryan restore the lead for Newmarket with a fine point from play but within two minutes the home side restored parity. Once more John Ryan was on hand to kick an excellent point, this time with his right leg. St. Michaels enjoyed a spell where they gained the lead on scoring three points in succession. T.J. Bodie kicked the final point of the half and the home side turned over in front by 0-5 to 0-4.

A John Ryan free, three minutes after the restart had the sides’ level for the fourth time of the game. St. Michaels took the initiative and some fine play yielded four points in five minutes as they took a clear lead. Newmarket regained their composure as David O’Flynn and John Ryan kicked another super point to reduce the deficit to two points, 0-9 to 0-7 at the three quarter stage. St. Michaels responded by scoring a brace of points but a determined Newmarket stayed in touch thanks to points from Maurice Feehan and team captain Tony O’Keeffe. However, it was the home side that sealed the points on adding the final score of the contest
The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
Pa O’Brien Barry O’Leary Brian O’Riordan
Conor Cronin Bart Daly Kevin O’Sullivan
Denys O’Brien John Ryan (0-5)
John Lane David O’Flynn (0-1) Maurice Feehan (0-1)
Tony O’Keeffe (0-1) T.J. Bodie (0-1) Nicky Flanagan
SUBS: Anthony Crowley, Colin O’Sullivan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors