Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket are top of the league after latest intermediate win

Newmarket maintained their excellent league form when they defeated Ballingeary in their ninth outing of the year in the intermediate football league at Newmarket on Sunday evening. Newmarket ran out impressive winners by 1-19 to 0-9 and sit on top of the league with fourteen points.

Newmarket raced into action from the outset with impressive movement and passing patterns. Maurice Feehan kicked a second minute point with John Lane fisting a point in the next attack. Ballingeary kicked their first point in the fourth minute but Newmarket maintained their excellent start with some fine scores from Bart Daly, Maurice Feehan and David O’Flynn. Ballingeary scored their second point in the eleventh minute but the prolific duo of Maurice Feehan and John Lane twice, added to Newmarket’s tally and they led by 0-8 to 0-2 after a blistering fifteen minute spell. Ballingeary replied with two points before John Lane fisted his third point of the half. The sides then exchanged four points with Tony O’Keeffe and John Lane on target for Newmarket. Ballingeary completed the scoring at the end of the half as Newmarket turned over in front by 0-11 to 0-7.

Newmarket resumed as they began the first half with points from David O’Flynn, Shane Anthony Murphy and Maurice Feehan in as many minutes. Ballingeary pointed next but Newmarket pressed on and Denys O’Brien was next to get on the scoresheet as he instigated a move from centre half back and burst forward to kick a fine score. Bart Daly converted a free before wing back Kevin O’Sullivan was on hand to kick another great score. The only goal of the game came ten minutes from time when John Lane chipped into the net from ten yards. Ballingeary responded with a point but Newmarket kept the momentum going to the end with another brace of points courtesy of the excellent marksmanship of Kevin O’Sullivan and Tony O’Keeffe.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
Pa O’Brien Mark Reidy Mark Murphy
Conor Cronin Denys O’Brien (0-1) Kevin O’Sullivan (0-2)
Timothy Murphy Gerard Casey
David O’Flynn (0-2) Bart Daly (0-2) Maurice Feehan (0-4)
Shane Anthony Murphy (0-1) Tony O’Keeffe (0-2) John Lane (1-5)
SUBS: Seanie Francis O’Connor, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Tadhg O’Sullivan

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors