Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket advance to semi final of the minor B football championship

Newmarket advanced to the semi final of the minor B football championship following an opening round home victory over Knocknagree by 1-15 to 0-7 on Monday evening.

The visitors took the lead in the very first minute but Bryan O’Connell tied the sides after slotting over a sixth minute point. The impressive Anthony Lynch surged forward to punch a fine point before Knocknagree restored parity in the tenth minute. Newmarket began to tip the balance in their favour in the second quarter and three points followed through Darren O’Keeffe and a brace of Ian Flanagan frees. As the half entered the final minutes of the half some fine approach play from Conor Cronin reached Kieran Lehane and he duly finished to the corner of the net. Ian Flanagan pointed for a bouyant Newmarket and this was added to by a couple of points from centre half back T.J. Brosnan who scored two fine points. Knocknagree did score the final point of the half but Newmarket turned over in front thanks to their scoring blitz to lead by 1-8 to 0-3.

Conor Cronin increased the lead within a minute but Knocknagree replied two minutes later. Ian Flanagan once more converted a free for Newmarket but for the next thirteen minutes Knocknagree staged a notable fightback that yielded three unanswered points and they reduced the deficit to six points, 1-10 to 0-7 as the game entered the final ten minutes. Newmarket refreshed their side by introducing a few substitutes and they had the desired effect. Ian Flanagan pointed for his fifth point before Andy Twomey and Paul Verling also got on the scoresheet. Newmarket saw the game off in the closing minutes and added to their tally with points from Bryan O’Connell and Darren O’Keeffe.

The Newmarket team was…

David Quinlan
Michael O’Leary Brendan Stack
Anthony Lynch (0-1) T.J. Brosnan (0-2) Alan Forde
Ian Flanagan (0-5) Conor Cronin (0-1)
Bryan O’Connell (0-2) Darren O’Keeffe (0-2) Eddie Allen
Kieran Lehane (1-0) Jeremiah Lane
SUBS: Paul Verling (0-1), Andy Twomey (0-1), Luke McCarthy, Billy Lane

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors