Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Junior hurlers lose to Millstreet in a tight game

The Junior hurlers lost out to Millstreet in a tight affair held in Millstreet last Friday evening in their second outing of the year.

They lost on a score line of 0-13 0-12. Newmarket got off to a very bad start and found themselves down by 7 points to nil after 19 minutes with Millstreet much quicker out of the blocks. Kevin O’ Sullivan got Newmarket’s first point from a free which in turn started a Newmarket revival. Anthony Crowley struck a 24th minute point which was followed in quick succession with points from Shane Murphy, John Lane from a placed ball and a fine Barry O’ Leary point which left the home side leading by 7 points to 4 at the break.

Newmarket gained the upper hand in the game after half time when Kevin O Sullivan struck another point on 38 minutes. Substitute Seanie Francis O’ Conner scored the next three points, all from frees in the space of six minutes. John Lane nailed a point on 52 minutes to put Newmarket ahead for the first time in the match. Millstreet got the next score with 7 minutes left after being kept scoreless for a 40 minute period. They scored another two points in as many minutes to take a 2 point lead. Newmarket weren’t finished yet with Seanie Francis again scoring with 2 minutes to go and he got another point from a free with a minute to go to put Newmarket back on level terms with Millstreet. The comeback was faltered however when Millstreet were awarded a penalty which they duly put over the bar to win on a score line of o-13 to 0-12. It was a very spirited Newmarket and in truth they did not deserve to lose this match.

The team was…

John Ryan
Pa O’ Brien Brian Daly David Kelly
Tony O’ Keeffe John McSweeney Barry O’ Leary (0-1)
Kevin O’ Sullivan (0-1) Colin O’ Sullivan
Anthony Crowley (0-1) Robert Stack Maurice Feehan
Donnacha O’ Dea John Lane (0-1) Shane Murphy (0-1)
Subs: Seanie Francis O’ Connor (-5, -4f), Shane Anthony Murphy, Niall O’ Connor, Mikey Kenneally

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors