Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Spoils shared in entertaining Ducon Cup game

Newmarket and Millstreet drew a very entertaining Ducon Cup game played at the latter’s venue on a cool Tuesday evening, 0-13 to 1-10.

Millstreet scored the first two points of the contest before Kevin O’Sullivan surged forward from his centre half back position to kick Newmarket’s first score. The impressive Sean Doody also got into an attacking position to kick a fine equalizing point at the end of the first quarter. Nicky Flanagan edged Newmarket in front for the first time but Millstreet restored parity two minutes later. Brian Daly kicked a fine long range point and Maurice Feehan finished off an impressive passage of play with another point to give Newmarket the slight edge. The home side finished the half in the ascendancy and three unanswered points gave them a slender advantage at half time by 0-6 to 0-5.

Nicky Flanagan pointed in the opening passage of play in the second half to leave the sides tied for a fourth time. Newmarket hit the front again from the growing influence of Shane Anthony Murphy but the sides were level within a minute, with Millstreet next to find the target.

Newmarket began to enjoy a period of dominance at this stage of the game and some fine football was rewarded with a few excellent scores which duly came through the accuracy of Shane Anthony Murphy twice, Maurice Feehan, Nicky Flanagan and a memorable Brian Daly effort. This gave Newmarket a five point advantage 0-12 to 0-7 as the game entered the final quarter. Millstreet maintained their challenge and began the revival with two quick fire points with six minutes left to play. Three minutes later Millstreet struck for the only goal of the game and yet again tie the contest. Newmarket struck back with Shane Anthony Murphy slotting over a free with less than two minutes to play. It was the home side who duly got the final score of the contest with a point and both sides ended with a share of the spoils.

The Newmarket team was

Niall O’Connor
Donnacha O’Dea Mark Murphy Brian O’Riordan
Sean Doody (0-1) Kevin O’Sullivan (0-1) Robert Stack
Brian Daly (0-2) Gerard Casey
Michael Kenneally Shane Anthony Murphy (0-4) Maurice Feehan (0-2)
John Ryan Colin O’Sullivan Nicky Flanagan (0-3)
SUBS: Matthew Fitzpatrick

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors