Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket juniors suffer first defeat in Ducon Cup

Newmarket suffered their first defeat in their third outing of this year’s Ducon Cup at home to Rockchapel on Tuesday evening by 1-12 to 1-6.

The hosts began brightly and took a fifth minute lead through the very impressive Shane Anthony Murphy. John Ryan added a point from a free two minutes later. The visitors were next to score in the tenth minute. Newmarket struggled badly in front of goal for the remainder of the half, despite carving out a number of scoring opportunities, they were guilty of missing a succession of chances. Rockchapel tied the contest with a point in the nineteenth minute and took the lead for the first time two minutes later. Newmarket got a reprieve in the twenty fourth minute when Michael Kenneally sent Shane Anthony Murphy through and he duly finished to the net in confident fashion. Rochchapel responded and finished the half well with two points enabling the sides to turn over level at the halfway point at 1-2 to 0-5.

Rockchapel gained the initiative upon the restart and built up a three point advantage, having added three points in nine minutes. Nicky Flanagan added a much needed score for Newmarket, but Rockchapel added a further two points by the end of the third quarter. Once more, Shane Anthony Murphy came to Newmarket’s aid with a fine point from play. Rockchapel maintained their dominance and a lively forward division added another brace of points. Shane Anthony Murphy reduced the deficit to four points as the game entered the final stages, but Rockchapel confirmed their victory with a late goal to round off a good display. Shane Anthony Murphy did score the final point of the game but it proved mere consolation for a Newmarket side that was defeated by 1-12 to 1-6.

The Newmarket team was…

Niall O’Connor
David Guiney Mark Murphy Brian Daly
Brian O’Riordan Kevin O’Sullivan Robert Stack
Timothy Murphy Colin O’Sullivan
Sean Doody Shane Anthony Murphy (1-4) Maurice Feehan
John Ryan (0-1) Nicky Flanagan (0-1) Michael Kenneally
SUBS: Gerard Casey, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Donnacha O’Dea, Brendan Stack

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors