Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Hurlers suffer narrow defeat to Millstreet

Newmarket were narrowly defeated by Millstreet, 0-12 to 1-7 in their latest game in the junior hurling league at Newmarket on Monday evening.

Millstreet got off to a blistering start, amassing a highly impressive tally of eight points in as many minutes at the outset of the game. Newmarket got on the board when John Lane slotted over a free in the twelveth minute. Newmarket settled and went on to enjoy a spell of dominance. John Lane added two further points and towards the end of the half a long distance free from the highly influential Brian Daly nessled in the back of the Millstreet net. The half completed with the score 0-8 to 1-3 in Millstreet’s favour.

Newmarket resumed in confident mood and the impressive Tony O’Keeffe landed a long distance point. Millstreet pointed next but Newmarket gained parity for the first time in the game at the three quarter mark, 0-9 to 1-6 thanks to two more John Lane points. Millstreet edged in front again but Kieran Hayes restored parity as a tight conclusion unravelled. Yet again Millstreet took the lead and despite every effort Newmarket just narrowly failed to regain terms. Millstreet sealed the issue with a final point in injury time to claim an entertaining contest.

This was easily Newmarkets best display of the campaign so far and a major test of the sides character following Fridays huge defeat. There were a number of fine displays all over the pitch. John McSweeney and Brian Daly were outstanding in defence but were ably assisted by the four other backs. Anthony Crowley and Tony O’Keeffe impressed at midfield, while John Lane and Kieran Hayes were to the fore in attack.

The Newmarket team was…

Barry O’Leary
David Guiney John McSweeney David Kelly
Niall O’Connor Brian Daly  (1-0) Shane Murphy
Anthony Crowley Tony O’Keeffe (0-1)
Michael Kenneally Colin O’Sullivan John Lane (0-5)
Robert Stack Kieran Hayes (0-1) Eamon Moynihan
SUB: John O’Keeffe

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors