Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2021 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket Begin 2019 Football League Campaign With Hard Fought Victory

Newmarket began their 2019 football league campaign with a 2-10 to 1-10 win over Aghabullogue. The game was played Sunday February 3rd in Newmarket.

Newmarket began liveliest of the two sides with Conor O’Keeffe & Daniel Culloty kicking early scores for the home side. Aghabullogue began to settle and kicked the next two points before Conor O’Keeffe once again split the posts. With fifteen minutes played, some smart movement off the ball, left Conor O’Keeffe through on goal, which he coolly dispatched to the corner of the net, leaving Newmarket ahead 1-03 to 0-02. The goal seemed to spur Aghabullogue on as they completely dominated the remainder of the half, kicking six unanswered points meaning O’Keeffe’s goal on the fifteenth minute was Newmarket’s final score of the first half.

Newmarket kicked the first point of the second half, before a lovely team move and kick pass from Culloty, left Darren O’Keeffe through on goal, in which he made no mistake in beating the away side’s keeper. The scoreboard now showed Newmarket 2-04 , Aghabullogue 0-08 after 40 minutes. In form forward Conor O’Keeffe kicked the next two points, pushing Newmarket further ahead. Fifteen minutes into the second half the away side registered their first score of the half, leaving three between the sides. O’Connor & Culloty stretched Newmarket’s lead further ahead before Aghabullogue kicked another point. O’Connor, now showing his ability, kicked the next two scores of the game pushing Newmarket six ahead into injury time. Aghabullogue never gave up and hit the Newmarket net two minutes into injury time, but this proved to be too little too late, with the final score showing Newmarket 2-10, Aghabullogue 1-10.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Conor O’Keeffe 1-05 (2f),  Barry O’Connor 0-03, Daniel Culloty 0-02 (1f), Darren O’Keeffe 1-00

Josh O'Keeffe
Paudie Allen Alan Ryan Donnacha Fitzpatrick
Bart Daly John Ryan Paddy Browne
Darren O'Keeffe Kevin O'Sullivan
Michael Cottrell Donal Hannon Cathal Browne
Daniel Culloty Conor O'Keeffe Barry O'Connor
Subs: TJ Bodie, Cian Crowley, Tony O'Keeffe, Jack Guiney

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors