Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Robert Emmett’s defeated in Duhallow Final

Robert Emmett’s season ended in disappointment when they were defeated by Boherbue in the Duhallow U-21 Football final played at Ballydesmond last Tuesday evening.

It was Robert Emmett’s who were defending their title having defeated Boherbue in last years final started brightly as they registered the first score of the game in the 3rd minute from a Daniel Culloty free. Barry O’Connor was next to raise the white flag after a fine effort. Boherbue responded with two points of their own to level proceedings at the 10 minute mark. Boherbue then won a penalty in the 12th minute but they failed to take full advantage as the shot was sent over the crossbar. In the 20th minute a miss-hit Barry O’Connor shot was gathered by the elusive Ryan O’Keeffe and he finished to the back of the net. However it was Boherbue who seemed to game momentum as they registered the next four points. Boherbue were tactically spot on through out as they dropped two extra defenders to restrict Robert Emmett’s dynamic attacking trio of Daniel Culloty, Barry O’Connor and Conor O’Keeffe. Robert Emmett’s often controlled possession out past the 45 yard line but failed to make decisive incisions into the packed Boherbue defence. The have time score line read Newmarket 1-2 Boherbue 0-7

Robert Emmett’s did manage to inflict some damage into the Boherbue blanket defence at the start of the second half as they took the lead once more through fine efforts from Conor O’Keeffe, Barry O’Connor and a Culloty free . However, Robert Emmett’s failed to register another score in the second period with Boherbue adding four more points and a goal at the very death to secure victory. Strong performances from Mike McSweeney, Alan Ryan and Cathal Browne were all in vain as Robert Emmett’s lost their crown.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Ryan O’Keeffe (1-00), Daniel Culloty (0-02), Barry O’Connor (0-02), Conor O’Keeffe (0-01).

Eoin O'Connell
Jason Sheehan Jack Guiney Daniel Norton
Jack Murphy Donal Hannon Michael McSweeney
Alan Ryan Mikey Cottrell
Conor O'Keeffe Cathal Browne Ryan O'Keeffe
Patrick Buckley Daniel Culloty Barry O'Connor
Subs: Cathal Field, Jeremy Murphy

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors