Newmarket GAA
Football & Hurling Club

For any queries/comments on the website simply e-mail

All Content Copyright ©2002 - 2019 Newmarket GAA | Football & Hurling Club

Newmarket GAA

Newmarket rue missed opportunities

Newmarket travelled to Dromtariffe on Wednesday evening last to take on the home side in their latest outing in the Ducon Cup and despite suffering an eight point defeat by 0-12 to 0-4, they were left to rue their tally of fifteen wides during the game.

Dromtariffe hit the front early with two points in four minutes. Newmarket had their first point in the tenth minutes thanks to the excellent Kevin O’Sullivan and despite their erratic efforts at this stage; it was Kevin O’Sullivan who ended an eleven minute scoreless period dominated by Newmarket with his second and equalizing point. When Dromtariffe found themselves in an advanced position at the other end, they proved far more clinical as they reeled of three points in succession towards the end of the half to lead at the turnover by 0-5 to 0-2 and Newmarket were grateful to custodian David Quinlan for producing an outstanding save to keep their goal intact towards the closing moments of the opening period.

Newmarket cut the deficit as Shane Murphy slotted over a free in the fifth minute of the half. The Newmarket rearguard led by full back Michael Kenneally held firm at the back as Dromtariffe added two points to lead by the end of the third quarter by 0-7 to 0-3. As the game entered the final ten minutes, Newmarket suffered for their inaccuracy as Dromtariffe sealed the issue by adding four points in succession. A gallant Newmarket effort did produce the last score of the game as Shane Murphy added his second point of the game.

The Newmarket team and scorers…

Kevin O’Sullivan (0-2), Shane Murphy (0-2).

David Quinlan
Michael O’Leary Michael Kenneally Brendan Stack
Conor Cronin Kevin O'Connor Matthew Fitzpatrick
Kevin O'Sullivan Mark Murphy
Sean Doody Shane Murphy Gavin Forde
Eddie Allen Luke McCarthy Kieran Lehane
Subs: Vinny Molloy, Patick Kelly, Nicky Barrett, Gerry McCarthy.

Play Lotto

  • Latest Result

    Div 2 FL
  • Next Fixture

  • Newmarket Motors